Follow us on TwitterLike us on FacebookAnchor1 
In this issue:
ASTA 131st Annual Convention Wrap Up
ASTA Staff Visit Member Companies
ASTA Welcomes New Members
Dan Foor Announced as CEO of La Crosse Seed

ASTA 131st Annual Conventon Wrap Up 


ASTA's 131st Annual Convention was held in Indianapolis, Ind., June 11-14.  The meeting provided an opportunity for seed industry experts to meet on policy issues and discuss association business for the next year. 


During the Gala Banquet, ASTA installed new leadership and recognized individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the seed industry.


The new ASTA officers for 2014-15 year are:


Chairman - John Schoenecker, HM.CLAUSE
First Vice Chair - Risa DeMasi, Grassland Oregon
Second Vice Chair - Mark Herrmann, Monsanto Vegetable


The association awarded two recipients with the Distinguished Service Award- June Blalock of the USDA Agricultural Research Service and Rick Falconer of Rijk Zwann.  Jim Tobin of Monsanto received the Honorary Member award for his service to ASTA on the Board of Directors and Chairman from 2005-06.


Attendance for this year's convention was the highest since 2008, with 475 attendees.  If you missed out on the opportunity to come to the annual convention, you can check out the media coverage here. 
ASTA Staff Visit Member Companies 

In conjunction with ASTA's annual convention in Indianapolis, ASTA staff members toured Dow Agro Sciences in Zionsville, Ind., and AgReliant Genetics in Westfield and Lebanon, Ind.  International Programs and Policy Director Michelle Klieger and Membership and Education Services Director Stan Barrett met with member company representatives to learn more about day-to-day business operations and provide an overview of ASTA and its international programs.


ASTA staff values opportunities to connect with our members and learn more about their businesses.  In conjunction with ASTA's Strategic Plan, staff will continue to visit members' operations throughout the year.  It is a goal to increase member visits in conjunction with meetings and events. 

ASTA Welcomes New Members 


The Board of Directors approved 15 new ASTA members during their meeting at annual convention.  Those new members are:

Previously approved members who have not been announced are:

Dan Foor Announced as CEO of La Crosse Seed


La Crosse Seed, a grass, turf and cover crop company in Wisconsin, recently announced Dan Foor as the new CEO.  In his role, Foor will be responsible for directing the business activities and executing growth plans for the company.  Foor joined La Crosse in 2011 as Chief Operating Officer.  He was responsible for expanding business opportunities and managing a key business acquisition.


Prior to his roles at La Crosse, Foor held various leadership roles at Monsanto, including two international assignments in Latin America.  Before joining Monsanto in 1999, Foor spent five years with Becker-Underwood in market development and sales roles.  He earned his Executive Masters in International Business from Saint Louis University in 2008 and Bachelors of Science in Agricultural Economics from Iowa State University in 1990.


Seeding Success


It's your membership and financial support that allows ASTA to do this work and get you the information you need. Please encourage other seed industry colleagues to join ASTA and contribute to the success of the industry.

American Seed Trade Association 

1701 Duke Street, Suite 275
, VA  22314

(p) 703.837.8140 │ (f) 703.837.9365

ASTA prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, and where applicable, sex, marital status, familial status, parental status, religion, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual's income is derived from any public assistance program. Persons with disabilities who require alternative means for communication (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact ASTA at 703-837-8140.