Poudre Landmarks Foundation
Issue No. 2 

November 2012
Young Avery Volunteers
Join PLF Today

Annabella and Emma love coming to the Avery House and helping out as docents at our special events. It might be our Old Fashioned Fourth of July, the Historic Homes Tour, or another Poudre Landmarks Foundation event. They volunteer their time so that others can enjoy the fun.  

You can help too by making a donation today. Your contribution will assist PLF in our efforts to provide historic preservation and education in the Fort Collins community. Most of our events are offered free to the public and we rely on community members like you to provide financial support for our efforts. 

Learn More            

Avery House School Tour

Community donations are used to maintain and preserve the 1879 Avery House and the 1882 Old Water Works, and to fund our vast array of events throughout the year. Poudre Landmarks has 40 years of experience and boasts over 200 volunteers who help make all this possible. 

Donations allow PLF to offer many activities throughout Fort Collins.  One of our favorite endeavors each year is offering over 1000 local students tours of the Avery House as part of their local history studies. The students enjoy a guided tour provided by PLF volunteer docents.  Tour guides engage the children with stories of the past that reflect the collective values that we share as a community and encourage pride in Fort Collins' history.  
Contributions also fund the weekly open houses at the Avery House and summer tours of the Old Water Works facility. Other special events include many family friendly activities geared towards sharing the joy of local history with the community.  


Seeing the spark of interest in a child's eye or community members gathered together to celebrate local history makes it all worthwhile. Won't you join us in passing on our collective history to future generations? Your financial gift is tax-deductible and will be put to work preserving and celebrating the unique history of Fort Collins.   


Brick and Mortar        $35.00    Donate             Foundation         $250.00   Donate

Cornerstone                $50.00     Donate             Structure             $500.00   Donate

Keystone                    $100.00    Donate              Architect            $1000.00  Donate

Donations can be made securely through PayPal or by mailing a check to: Poudre Landmarks Foundation, 108 N. Meldrum St., Fort Collins, CO  80521.   

Teas & Memories
  • Teas & Memories: Wedding Dresses Across the Decades
  • Old-Fashioned Fourth of July at the Avery House
  • Historic Homes Tour Events
  • Holiday Open House at the 1879 Avery House
  • Big Splash Celebration at the 1882 Old Water Works
  • Book Readings for Children at the Avery House 
Holiday Open House at the Avery House
AH Christmas Tree
Celebrate the holidays in Victorian splendor at the Avery House Holiday Open House! Saturday and Sunday, December 1st and 2nd from 11 a.m. - 4 p.m., and Tuesday, December 4th from 5 - 7 p.m. Experience the magic of a Victorian Christmas with period decorations, live music, and costumed hosts. Visit the Avery Carriage House Gift Shop for Christmas craft items, baked goods, and handmade toffee. Free admission, donations appreciated.

Our 'Twas The Night Before Christmas event will delight children with a tour of the decorated Avery House, a reading of Clement Clarke Moore's classic 'Twas The Night Before Christmas, and refreshments in the Carriage House. Friday, November 30th and Saturday, December 1st, 5 and 6 p.m. $3.00 per child (must be accompanied by an adult.) Reservations required by calling Joann at 970-482-7125.
Poudre Landmarks Foundation             (970) 221-0533
108 N. Meldrum St.                                  poudrelandmarks@gmail.com
Fort Collins, CO 80521                            www.poudrelandmarks.org

Poudre Landmarks Foundation Board of Directors:
Doug Ernest, President                           Cheryl Donaldson                     Janell Prussman
Tom Tisthammer, Vice President           Norm Evans                               Evie Reuter      
Nancy DuTeau, Treasurer                       Jane Hail                                  Bill Miller    
Jennifer Kutzik, Secretary                      Gordon "Hap" Hazard               Jacques Rieux 
Tom Boardman                                       Lynda Lloyd                             Eric Rollins   
Carol Brescher                                

Executive Director:  Jennifer Beccard