Indiana Association of  
Soil and Water Conservation Districts

News from the IASWCD

For release: Wednesday, August 14, 2013
State conservation awards presented to Indiana farmers in State Fair ceremony 

Note: Bios are available on the IASWCD website. Photos of recipients present are hotlinked with the bios.
Indianapolis -  Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann stood center stage with farmers who were honored today for their soil and water conservation practices. The 46 River Friendly Farmer Award winners River Friendly Farmer logo for 2013 were recognized during a Farmers' Day ceremony at the Indiana State Fair.

Since 2000, key conservation and agricultural organizations have sponsored the River Friendly Farmer Program. The statewide initiative recognizes farmers, who through good production management practices helps keep Indiana's rivers, lakes and streams clean. 

Steve Crowe, Greene County farmer and a 2013 award recipient, uses no-till, cover crops, water ways and filter strips on his farm said, "This farm belongs to my family. My wife and children and I work it knowing that it will be handed over to them and to their children in the future......'Home-Health-Heritage.' What that means to me is we care for our land through our conservation practices, practices that protect our homes, and our health, for generations to come."   

2013 River Friendly Farmer recipients
Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann, front row/red jacket, joined the 26 recipients who were able to attend the ceremony at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, for the 2013 River Friendly Farmer awards. NRCS State Conservationist Jane Hardisty, front row 2nd from the left, and Indiana Farm Bureau President Don Villwock, front row 10th from the left, were also on hand to congratulate farmers for their outstanding conservation farming practices.
Crowe was one of 26 recipients on hand to receive the award from the lieutenant governor and Indiana Farm Bureau President Don Villwock. Joining Villwock was Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) President Jeff Meinders and Indiana NRCS State Conservationist Jane Hardisty.


"This is always a rewarding day to thank these men and women for the job they are doing to protect our environment," said Jeff Meinders, IASWCD president.  

The River Friendly Farmer Award is sponsored by:


2013 River Friendly Farmer Recipients:    

Bios and (photos of those present at the ceremony)  are available on the IASWCD website.

  1. Adams County, Rediger Farms Inc., Martin Rediger
  2. Allen County, Byer Farm Service, Ned Byer
  3. Clark County, Valley View Farms, Sam Hagest
  4. Clark County, Dallas Lowery
  5. Clinton County, Windy Lane Farms, Inc., Hal and Ty Brown
  6. Crawford County, Bach Farm, Rollin Bach
  7. Crawford County, Newton Farm, Marcus Newton
  8. Decatur County, Smiley Brothers, Gordon and Jeff Smiley
  9. DeKalb County, State Line Farms, Leon, Mel, and Ed Steury
  10. Dubois County, Welp Homestead Farms, Inc., Mark and Brad Welp
  11. Franklin County, David Hartman

  12. Fulton County, Norman Farms, Michael Norman
  13. Gibson County, Horrall Farms, Ed Horrall
  14. Greene County, Crowe Farms, Inc., Steve Crowe
  15. Greene County, Worland Farms, LLC, Daniel Worland
  16. Hamilton County, Stewart Farms, Jeff Stewart
  17. Howard County, Zell Farm, Dale Zell
  18. Jay County, James Laux
  19. Jay County, Andy Schemenaur
  20. Jefferson County, Reed's Orchard, Wes Thomas
  21. Knox County, Anson Family Farms, Mark, Michael, Douglas, and Daniel
  22. Kosciusko County, Romine Farms, Brian Romine
  23. Kosciusko/Fulton County, Paxton Farms, Brent Paxton
  24. LaGrange County, Mishler Family Farm, Dewayne Mishler
  25. Newton County, Prairie Park Farm, Warren Johnson, Jr.
  26. Newton County, Strole Grain Farms Inc., Larry Strole (deceased)
  27. Pike County, R J Adams Farms, Inc., Larry and Grant Adams
  28. Pike County, Randy and Ron Leistner
  29. Posey County, Reineke Farms, Steve and Tim Reineke
  30. Pulaski County, Gary Culp
  31. Putnam County, Cedar view Farm LLC, Ron Sutherlin
  32. St. Joseph County, Whitmer Farms, Jim Whitmer
  33. St. Joseph County, Doug Millar
  34. Scott County, Bill and Mary Beth Comer
  35. Spencer County, Freschly Farms, Dean Freschly
  36. Starke County, Pflugshaupt Farms, Robin Phfugshaupt
  37. Starke County, Greg Stone
  38. Steuben County, Moody and Crew LLC, Tyson Franks
  39. Tippecanoe County, Pig Alliance, Todd Welch
  40. Vanderburgh County, Curran and Ann Miller Family LLC, Hugh Miller
  41. Vermillion County, Cheesewright Farms, Kelly Cheesewright
  42. Wabash County, Treska Farms, Gary Treska
  43. Washington County, Cornucopia Farm, Kevin, Linda, Michael, and Jared Baird
  44. Washington County, River Farm, David Souder
  45. Whitley County, Jim Cormany Farms, Jim Cormany
  46. Whitley County, Jagger Farms, Kevin Jagger

#          #          #

iaswcd logo

For more information contact:

DeeDee Sigler, Communications Manager
317-692-7374, ext. 303 

IASWCD Officers


President: Jeff Meinders


Vice President: 
Paul Cummings


Secretary: Jamie Scott 


Bobby Hettmansperger




North-NW: Jim Martin


South-NW: Mike Starkey


North-NE: Tom Crowe 


South-NE: Troy Hattery


North-SW: Les Zimmerman


South-SW: Jim Droege 


North-SE: Mike Schwab


South-SE: Brad Ponsler




Executive Director:

Jennifer Boyle Warner


Conservation Development Specialist: Janice Bullman


Project Assistant: Liz Rice


Soil Health Program Manager: Lisa Holscher


Communications Manager: DeeDee Sigler

225 S. East St., Suite 740, Indpls, IN  46202 / 317.692.7325 / [email protected] / Facebook / Twitter