Jan. 8, 2013 

winter banner

Indiana Association of
Soil and Water
Conservation Districts
Wayne County Soil and Water Conservation District Official named State Supervisor of the Year

Indianapolis -- The Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) held their annual Conservation Awards Banquet tonight as part of the organization's 70th Annual Conference of Indiana Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs). The theme for the conference is The Power of Conservation: Today's Action's,Tomorrow's Rewards. 


Award photos from tonight's banquet are available to be downloaded. 


Among the six major awards presented, Tim McConaha, Wayne County Soil and Water Conservation District, was named the 2012 State Supervisor of the Year. The award was established to recognize outstanding and exemplary supervisor achievements and leadership in the protection and enhancement of Indiana's soil and water resources. 


Tim McConaha

Tim, center pointing, discusses a conservation field feature to a group during a Grazing Field Day.

This year, the Supervisor of the Year receives a plaque and a full paid registration to the 2014 Annual Conference of Indiana Soil and Water Conservation Districts, courtesy of Indiana Prairie Farmer Magazine, the award sponsor. 


Tim McConaha exemplifies hard work and unwavering dedication not only to the Wayne County Soil and Water Conservation District, but to its staff and his community. 


He is active as the owner/operator of his family's 500-acre Hoosier Homestead farm, where he raises row crops and operates a cow/calf operation. He is committed to no-till, rotational grazing, waterways, cover crops, tile drainage, wildlife seed plots, wildlife habitats, classified forest, tree plantings, and ponds/livestock watering systems.

As a District supervisor, McConaha 
is called upon many times throughout the year to help with various Soil and Water Conservation District activities and events. He attends field days and ensures the staff has everything needed to make it the best possible event. He also held an invitational soil judging contest on his farm and hosted a grazing/forage field day.



Tim, right, helps grade papers at a 2012 East Central Regional Envirothon competition.

During Conservation Days McConaha helps with set-up, stuffs 1,000 student goodie bags, and keeps students on schedule. He also assists with the East Central Regional Envirothon contest and helps to grade and check scores for awards. He volunteers in the District display booth at the 4-H fair and Home Show.   


McConaha was instrumental as a member of the Whitewater River Watershed Initiative Steering Committee. He currently serves on the Education Coordinating Committee overseeing the work and duties of the Conservation Education Coordinator.


The three-day Annual Conference of Indiana SWCDs concludes tomorrow at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown with the IASWCD's annual Legislative Breakfast and Annual Business Meeting.

The complete agenda is available in the conference brochure. Registration and other information on the conference is available online, or onsite at the registration desk located on the second floor of the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, 350 W. Maryland, Indianapolis, 46225 (not the JW Marriott).  


#     #     #

IASWCD Staff:  

For additional information contact:

DeeDee Sigler, IASWCD communications manager,

Indiana Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts 


President: Ray McCormick
, Knox Co.

Vice President: Jeff Meinders Ripley Co.

Secretary: Paul Cummings, Owen Co.
Treasurer: Jamie Scott, Kosciusko Co. 

Region Directors: 


North-NW: Larry Strole, Newton Co.

South-NW: Mike Starkey, Hendricks Co.

North-NE: Tom Crowe, Allen Co.

South-NE: Bobby Hettmansperger, Wabash Co. 

North-SW: Les Zimmerman, Vermillion Co.

South-SW: Jim Droege, Posey Co.  

North-SE: Mike Schwab, Franklin Co.

South-SE: Brad Ponsler, Jennings Co.