AAACTA Advantage
 News from the Ann Arbor Area Community Tennis Association         September 2014

A community organization dedicated to supporting and promoting tennis
in the Ann Arbor area.

Find us on Facebook 













The 2014 City Tournament


Thanks to all of the participants in the 2014 City Tournament. This year, the 95th year of this great tennis tradition, was hosted once again by the Ann Arbor Area Community Tennis Association at the Varsity Tennis Center in conjunction with the Ann Arbor Recreation and Education Department. There were 478 Adults in 26 events and 102 Juniors in 15 events participating. This year's tournament also included consolation matches for the first time in the Adult divisions. The support of the players, sponsors, and volunteers makes it possible for AAACTA to carry out its mission of serving the tennis community throughout the year.


Thank you, sponsors, volunteers, players, and spectators! All results are available on AAACTA's website.





2014 Mueller Sportsmanship Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2014 Mueller Sportsmanship Award winners! These participants were chosen for their fair play and courtesy on the court.

Ifechi Ilozor, Meg Goldberg, Eleanor Vogel,  Loida Jen Hernandez, Rafid Farjo
Not pictured: Jamal Hassunizadeh and Owen Kelley


Junior Sponsorship Program

Each year, Ann Arbor Rec & Ed has been expanding their community outreach program, bringing new players to the sport of tennis. Many of these children qualify for need-based assistance programs. 

We believe that these children are an integral part of our organization's mission. This summer AAACTA started our Junior Sponsorship Program, designed to include young players in the tournament who might not otherwise be able to afford the event.

The following people generously paid the entry fee for one or more players: Betsy
Capelli, Tris Coffin, Priscella Marlow, Barbara Mueller, Rebecca Meuninck, and Michael Yi.

Our Indispensable 2014 Tournament Sponsors
Their support ensured our success. Thank them with your patronage! 


Champion Sponsor:

Tournament Sponsors:

Match Sponsors:
Carol Luckenbach  George Smillie, DDS

Set Sponsors:
Ann Munro  *  Barton Hills Country Club  *  Giordani Family
Irfan Bhabhrawala & Stacey Pomransky  *  KUMA  *  Northwestern Mutual | Carol Hoffer
Peter Pusztai  *  Power Cycling  *  Tris Coffin
Advantage Sponsors:
Ann Arbor Tennis Club  *  Jaye Kain  *  Kenneth Morley
Pfizer Foundation  *  Rakesh Latchamsetty 

Thank You to Our Wonderful Volunteers!

Bonnie Brickett, Jim Douglass, Wesley Dunnick, Anne Giordani, Sharon Hensen, Loida Jen Hernandez, Lucy Jiang, Heidi Kerst, Jason Kerst, Loren Levy, John McReynolds, Ken Morley, Ryan Murphy, Christina Nedeltchev, James Nedeltchev, Monica Nedeltchev, Rossen Nedeltchev, Helen Peters, Mary Reilly, Carl Ritter, Lauren Segall, Barbara Wasneski, Nancy White, Tom Wielenga, Linda Woodland, Fran Wylie, Xujing Zhang, and the staff at Varsity Tennis Center. Thank you for volunteering your time and energy at the adult and junior tournaments!


Special thanks to our TOURNAMENT DIRECTOR Helen Giordani 


and to our SITE DIRECTORS Carol Luckenbach, Christian Loepke, 

and Barbara Wasneski!


Introducing the 2014 Tournament Committee


Tournament Chairs: Ralph McKee, Rossen Nedeltchev, and Jaye Kain
Committee Members: Sandell Bennett, Irfan Bhabhrawala, Gary DeGuzman, Brad Geller, Anne Giordani, Helen Giordani, Heidi Kerst, Anne-Marie Kim, Christian Loepke, George Lowe, Carol Luckenbach, Tom Moore, Barbara Mueller, Helen Peters, Janet Remen, Lauren Segall, Vanda Shadigian, Barbara Wasneski, and Amy WisemanThank you for all your hard work planning the Tournaments!


Congratulations to Our Door Prize Winners!

This year we gave out door prizes generously donated by local people and area businesses to tournament participants. Here are the lucky winners:

Cayman Sports gift certificates

Jeff Alson, John Paul Gierach, Jane Heibel, Thomas Murray, Eileen Pollack, Charles Roe, Santiago Schnell, Kristin Schuelke, Tom Schuelke, Karl Tek, Allison Yee, Jeremy York, Brad Ziajor

Chippewa Club: one-hour court time

Rob Bartolomeo, Jon Scherer, Allison Wachter, Michael Yi


Chippewa Club: private tennis lesson

Michael Coffey, Noe Erasga, Kayla Harris, Esteban Riano­ Mojica, Connie Ray, Chu-Hsiang Teng


Dick's Sporting Goods gift certificates

Jeff Alson, Kristin Baumgardner, Brad Beaver, Fode Camara, Shao­Yuan Chen, Brian Eckert, James Froehlich, Yearn-hun Ha, Andrew Hartman, Laurie Krauth, Andrew Mah, Victor Mendoza, Rossen Nedeltchev, Ken Powell, Chu­-Hsiang Teng


In Touch spa service gift certificates

Narihiro Agusa, Russell Chey, Stephen Hersey, Sven Holcombe, Karen Hotz, Amy Wiseman


Peter Pusztai tennis lesson

Joe Pisto

Jon Fischer 

The tennis community was saddened to learn of the passing of Jon Fischer. Jon was a tennis professional at Travis Pointe for many years and an enthusiastic and long-time supporter of Saline high school tennis. For a number of years, Jon directed the Girls 16 National Tournament at the UM Varsity Tennis Center over Thanksgiving weekend. He was active in the USTA Southeast Michigan District for decades and was a past SEMTA president.
Join Our Mailing List

Visit AAACTA at  

Find us on Facebook 


Betsy Capelli
AAACTA Newsletter Editor
Got a comment or an idea about the newsletter?