URISA connects great ideas and great people to inspire leadership and achievement.


URISA Digest
August 6, 2015

FTA Acting Administrator Therese McMillan to Address GIS in Transit Conference Next Month in DC

Make your Plans for Spokane!

Exemplary Systems in Government Award Winners Announced
Since 1980, URISA's ESIG Awards have recognized extraordinary achievements in the use of geospatial information technology that have improved the delivery and quality of government services. 

Enterprise System Category Winner:
Boldly Know: York Region's Enterprise GIS
John Houweling, Director, Geographic Information Services Branch, Corporate Services Department of the Regional Municipality of York, Ontario Canada

Distinguished Enterprise Systems:
  • Transportation Information Mapping System (TIMS)
    Ian Kidner, GISP, GIMS Systems Administrator, Ohio Department of Transportation
  • NPMap Builder
    Nate Irwin, Web Mapping Coordinator, US National Park Service
Single Process System Category Winner:
Next Generation Permitting System
Dennis Hanberg, Planning and Land Services Director, Pierce County, Tacoma, Washington

Distinguished Single Process Systems:
  • Calgary Automated Survey Plan Verification and Reporting (CASPER)
    Arne Svedahl, Leader, Cadastral GeoSpatial Asset Management, City of Calgary , Alberta Canada
  • Mobile Voter Line Wait Application
    Tim Nolan, GISP, Senior Applications Manager, Collin County, Texas
Congratulations to all participants! Awardees will be recognized at GIS-Pro.

Have you Voted Yet?
URISA members received an email invitation (dated July 20) with voting instructions for the 2015 Election. These URISA leaders are on the ballot:

Tripp Corbin, GISP (eGIS Associates, Inc - Dacula, Georgia)
Kim McDonough, GISP (Tennessee Department of Transportation - Nashville, Tennessee)

FOR BOARD OF DIRECTORS-(to fill 3 positions):
Stephen Berry, GISP (Clark County Consortium for GIS - Winchester, KY)
Keri Brennan, GISP (The Schneider Corporation - Indianapolis, Indiana)
Corey Halford, GISP (City of Airdrie - Alberta Canada)
Alex Hepp (EagleView/Pictometry - Rochester, New York)
Brent Jones (Esri - Vienna, Virginia)
Donna Phillips, GISP (City of Hayden, Idaho)

The ballot will be open until August 20, two weeks from now. The race is close. So please consider this member responsibility and vote! (If you haven't voted... you will receive another reminder next week.)