Recognizing VBA leaders
across the Commonwealth

By the time this message reaches the membership, the Association will have held its annual Leadership Conference on Thursday, February 27. This event brings the entire VBA leadership together to discuss goals, initiatives, and ideas for the new bar year and to learn about the current status of the Association's legislative agenda, among other things.


The leadership commitment of these volunteer lawyers is extraordinary, and I want to take this opportunity to specifically recognize the chairs of the Association's substantive law sections, commissions, coalitions, and committees and to thank them for their outstanding service on behalf of the VBA. These leaders play instrumental roles in developing and advocating for the VBA's robust legislative agenda each year and in creating the exceptional general session and CLE programming for which VBA meetings are well known.


The leaders of these groups in 2014 are the following:


Administrative Law JoAnne L. Nolte
(The Nolte Law Firm, P.C.) 
Appellate Practice Jeffrey M. Summers
(The Law Office of Jeffrey
M. Summers, PLLC) 
Bankruptcy Law Robert S. Westermann
(Hirschler Fleischer PC) 
Business Law John Owen Gwathmey
(Troutman Sanders LLP) 
Civil Litigation Richard H. Ottinger
(Vandeventer Black LLP) 
Construction and
Public Contracts Law 
W. Ryan Snow
(Crenshaw, Ware & Martin,
Corporate Counsel Dennis P. Smith
(Federal Reserve Bank
of Richmond) 
Criminal Law Denise Lunsford
(Albemarle County
Commonwealth Attorney's
Domestic Relations  Christine M. Corey
(Law Offices of Deanna D.
Cook, PC) 
Elder Law Paula L. Peaden
(Parker, Pollard, Wilton
& Peaden, P.C.) 
Natural Resources
and Energy Law 
Darin K. Waylett
(McGuireWoods LLP)  
Health Law Alan S. Goldberg
(Alan S. Goldberg Attorney
& Counselor at Law) 
Intellectual Property
and Information
Technology Law 
R. Braxton Hill, IV
(Christian & Barton, LLP) 
Judicial Judge Pamela S.

(Petersburg Circuit Court)  
Labor Relations
and Employment Law 
Harris D. Butler, III
(Butler Royals, PLC) 
Real Estate Katja H. Hill
Taxation Neil L. Rose
(Willcox Savage) 
Transportation Law Gregory P. Cirillo
(Wiley Rein LLP) 
Wills, Trusts & Estates Katherine E. Ramsey
(Hunton & Williams LLP) 
Commission on the
Needs of Children
Margaret I. Bacigal
(Univ. of Richmond
School of Law)
Committee on Federal
Judgeships-Eastern District  
C. Thomas Ebel
(Sands Anderson PC)
Committee on Federal
Judgeships-Western District  
Frank W. Rogers, III
(Mundy, Rogers
& Associates, LLP) 
Committee on Nominations
to Virginia Commissions
& Appellate Courts 
John K. Burke, Jr.
(Setliff & Holland, P.C.) 
Committee on Special
Issues of National & State
David Craig Landin
(Hunton & Williams LLP) 
Joint Alternative Dispute
Resolution Committee
Jeanne F. Franklin
(Franklin Solutions)
Judiciary Committee David G. Shuford
(Dominion Resources
Services, Inc.)
Cheshire I. Eveleigh
(Wolcott Rivers Gates)


Please join me in extending deep gratitude to these individuals (and their employers) for their tremendous contributions to the work of The Virginia Bar Association.   


John L. Walker, III

 with The Virginia Bar Association
John L. Walker III 2013 VBA President
John L. Walker, III
The Virginia Bar Association 
Quick Links
Legislative Advocacy
Contact Info

Stay Connected

Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   View our profile on LinkedIn