FSF Logo Banner

MARCH 18, 2014



Thanks to all who attended the Free State Foundation's Sixth Annual Telecom Policy Conference yesterday at the National Press Club and to all the speakers who helped make the conference so consequential and such a resounding success!


And special thanks to C-SPAN for covering the conference from start to finish -- almost five hours worth of coverage, which included three keynote sessions and two panels of experts from industry, academia, the FCC, and the Hill.


If you missed attending the conference in person, or if you just want to go back and watch parts of it again, you can view the sessions in their entirety in the five C-SPAN segments immediately below.


We are confident you will find the sessions informative and educational, and even entertaining. 


Conference Welcome and FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn's Opening Keynote Address 


Communications Policy Discussion - Senior Executives Panel 


Communications Policy Discussion - Academic, FCC, and Congressional Experts Panel 


Conversation between FSF President Randolph May and FCC Commissioner Michael O'Rielly 


Closing Keynote Address - FTC Commissioner Maureen Ohlhausen

WHAT: The Free State Foundation's Sixth Annual Telecom Policy Conference 
WHERE: The National Press Club, Washington, DC 
WHEN: Tuesday, March 18, 2014, 8:45 AM - 2:45 PM

The Free State Foundation held its Sixth Annual Telecom Policy Conference on Tuesday, March 18, 2014, at the National Press Club. The topics addressed included Net Neutrality, the meaning of Section 706, the Comcast - Time Warner Cable merger, the IP transition, spectrum auctions, TV regulation, FCC reform, and a new Communications Act -- and more! The complete conference agenda is here
FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn delivered the Opening Keynote Address.

FCC Commissioner Michael O'Rielly participated in a lunchtime "Conversation" with FSF President Randolph May.

FTC Commissioner Maureen Ohlhausen delivered the Closing Keynote Address. 

Panel Speakers

An outstanding line-up of senior officials and leading experts from government, industry, academia, and think tanks discussed and debated the most important policy issues of the day.

Rebecca Arbogast - Comcast 


James Assey - NCTA


Shawn Chang - House Commerce Committee 


Jim Cicconi - AT&T


Justin (Gus) Hurwitz - University of Nebraska College of Law and member of FSF's Board of Academic Advisors


Steve Largent - CTIA - The Wireless Association


Daniel Lyons - Boston College Law School and member of FSF's Board of Academic Advisors


David Redl - House Commerce Committee


Craig Silliman - Verizon


Deborah Taylor Tate - Free State Foundation and former FCC Commissioner


Nicol Turner-Lee - MMTC


Philip Verveer - FCC 


Christopher Yoo - University of Pennsylvania Law School and member of FSF's Board of Academic Advisors 

 This year's conference theme was:
"A New FCC and a New Communications Act:
Aligning Communications Policy with Marketplace Realities"

Keep the conversation going...Twitter: #FSFconf



Follow us on Twitter  


View our videos on YouTube  


Like us on Facebook   


Make a Tax-Deductible Contribution to Support FSF's Work!   



Sign Up for FSF EMails

Join Our Mailing List

The Free State Foundation
P. O. Box 60680
Potomac, MD 20859
Tel: 301-984-8253
Fax: 301-299-5007


A Free Market Think Tank for Maryland......Because Ideas Matters and FSF are registered trademarks of the Free State Foundation. All trademark and copyright rights are reserved.