Dems for Equality eNews

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Everyone Is Going to Be There


Stars of California Government Coming Soon to an Event Near You


The leaders of both chambers of the California legislature, the state's chief elections officer, and other prominent Democrats will be highlighted at the 35th Annual Roosevelt Dinner on Saturday, April 11.


Click here to get your tickets and reserve your place at the Dems for Equality Tables today! 

You'll hear from Dems for Equality's own Toni Atkins, the Speaker of the Assembly; keynote speaker Kevin de León, President pro Tempore of the Senate; Alex Padilla, California's Secretary of State, and Assemblymember Shirley Weber, the evening's honorary chair. 
Speaker Toni Atkins, President Pro Tempore Kevin de Leon, Secretary of State Alex Padilla, Assemblymember Shirley Weber

Dems for Equality member Chris Ward, Volunteer of the Year
Awards will be presented to exemplary volunteers and leaders from around the county, and there will be a special tribute to the Voting Rights Act to mark the 50th anniversary of the passage of that landmark bill.


The event begins with a 6:00 p.m. reception and silent auction on the Hilton San Diego Bayfront's lovely Sapphire Terrace. Dinner service starts at 7:00 along with awards, introductions, and greetings from featured guests.

For a limited time, Democrats for Equality members can purchase tickets at a reduced rate of $100 (normally $125). The last date this rate will be available is April 1st. To join us, click on the link below, Select Club/Go Team Seating under Ticket & Guest Information and list Dems for Equality under Table Affiliation (Meal Choice and Organizational Affiliation).

The theme of this year's gala is "Setting the Stage" -- a nod to our political forebears as well as to the importance of today's activism for future generations.
 Experience an evening that's sure to be motivational, social, and a great time with fellow San Diego Democrats!




Councilmember Gloria to Administer Oath of Office


As we head into our 40th Anniversary year, San Diego Democrats for Equality will host a reception and Swearing-In Ceremony on March 26th for our team of Club officers for 2015. The event will feature a reception beginning at 6:30 PM. Councilmember Todd Gloria will give a talk about the state of the City, his community and Party and will also administer the oath of office to Club officers.

Because of the staggered terms Dems for Equality recently adopted for its officers the oath will be a starting point for some and a reminder for others. Regardless of whether we are new or ongoing, all Democrats for Equality request the honor of your presence at this reception.  


Officers for 2015 are:


David Warmoth, President

William Rodriguez-Kennedy, Vice President for Resource Development

Georgette Gomez, Vice President for Political Action (newly re-elected)
Lyn Gwizdak, Secretary
Craig Roberts, Treasurer (newly elected)
Lilian Arreguin, At-Large Member of the Board
Cindy Green, At-Large Member of the Board (newly elected)


The reception will be held at Joyce Beers Uptown Community Center; 3900 Vermont Street in Hillcrest. (Please use the underground parking structure behind Trader Joe's to avoid being ticketed.)


Georgette Gomez
Craig Roberts
Craig Roberts
Cindy Green















Is it Time to Re-Up?


The Club depends on membership dues to keep the lights on and promote our candidates and issues to the community. A large number of community members depend on our Voters Guide to help them make an intelligent choice when marking their ballots so your membership renewal is critical to ensure those Guides get into those hands. If your membership has lapsed or if you know you're membership is soon to expire, please re-up now. You might also consider upgrading your membership to a higher level.

We have begun a notification process to let you know when your membership is about to expire. It consists of an email message approximately one month prior to expiration followed by a letter to those who do not respond to the email. Email is cheaper than US mail so, please log on and renew when you get the notice.

Even so, there is a cost associated with our email communications too. If your membership has expired more than a year ago, you can expect a notice from us that we will be dropping you from our email list for this newsletter and other Club communications. Please don't let that happen. Your membership is important to us and we would like to count you amongst our fellow Club members committed to progressive government and LGBT equality. Please log on through the link below and renew you membership now.

Dems for Equality would like to welcome Tanner Songer as a new member of the Club. We'd also like to welcome back Doug Case and Diane Edge who renewed at the Sustaining level. We'd also like to thank Eva Posner and welcome her back for another year.

You can find out more about the Club's membership levels and benefits online HERE. You can also renew with a credit card there.  If you would prefer to use a check, send the check, made out to Democrats for Equality to:


San Diego Democrats for Equality

PO Box 33050

San Diego CA 92163

(Please note that to comply with Federal and State election laws, please include your full address and your job title/employer with your check. Telephone number and email address would be nice too!)





Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast For six years we have participated in the Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast. It's a great opportunity to start your day with your fill of inspiration and purpose with a nice breakfast to keep you that way.

Join us as we join with other community groups, leaders and activists for the Seventh Annual Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast on Thursday, May 21, 2015, 7:30-9 am at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel, 1 Park Blvd. Attended by more than 1,000 people, businesses, groups and organizations annually, this San Diego event is the largest Harvey Milk celebration in the state of California!

Thursday, May 21, 2015
7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
1 Park Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101

Get your ticket for the Dems for Equality sponsored table HERE.


Still Time to Help Out Our Friend Tim Orozco


Reception for Tim Orozco at the Home of Port Commissioner Bob Nelson

Dems for Equality was proud to join Club members Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, Councilmember Todd Gloria, former State Senator Chris Kehoe, SDUSD Boardmember Kevin Beiser, DNC member Jess Durfee, Phil Diamond, Craig Roberts, Maureen Steiner and Kevin Tilden in hosting a fundraiser reception for Tim Orozco at the home of Port Commissioner Bob Nelson


Tim recently left us in San Diego to return to his home in San Jose after years as a hardworking member of Speaker Atkins' staff and as a Dems for Equality member. He is running in a special election on April 7th to fill a vacancy on the San Jose City Council. Based on all he did for us here San Diego Democrats for Equality recently endorsed his campaign and recommend his election to the voters of San Jose. You can still help Tim and his campaign by donating (to a maximum of $500) at This Link.



Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly SpeakerToni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Susan Guinn & Denice Feldhaus
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen
Dr. Bob Pedrick & José Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Self Evident Truths
David Warmoth, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975