Dems for Equality eNews

Tuesday, February 24, 2015   

  Dems for Equality Member Running for San Jose City Council  


Vote Online On Candidate Endorsement


Tim Orozco Running for City Council


Long time Club member and former Dems for Equality Board member Tim Orozco is seeking election to an open District 4 seat on the San Jose City Council in a special election to be held April 7th.

Orozco has been endorsed by a host of organizations including the Santa Clara County Democratic Party, the League of Conservation Voters, South Bay AFL-CIO Labor Council, the Sierra Club, and BAYMEC (non-partisan LGBT political action committee).


For more information about Tim and his candidacy, click HERE.

Because of his long association with, and hard work for the Club, the Club's Board has recommended that the membership endorse Tim's bid for election to the City Council. While we do not anticipate a financial contribution to the campaign, we hope to participate with other San Diego Democrats as co-host of a fundraiser for his campaign in March.

We have set-up an online endorsement vote page for members.  As with our usual meeting procedure, there are two questions. 1st, should the Club endorse in this race and 2nd, should Tim Orozco be endorsed. Voting will be open through Sunday, March 1st. We urge all Club members to VOTE HERE.





And the Vice Presidency for Political Action Goes to... 


The Club's Oscar watching party featured good food, drink and conversation as well as prizes for Oscar winner predictions.  The big winner of the night (I hear Birdman did well too) was... Craig Roberts, taking home not only the position of Club Treasurer but, 3 movie passes as the winner of a hard fought Oscar ballot competition.


Denice Feldhaus, Susan Guinn and their family did a fabulous job as host for the evening. Club members provided an appreciative audience for the frequent progressive political messages from the presenters and winners on screen - almost enough to make up for the lack of diversity in the Academy member's nominations.


In addition to the Oscar ballot, Club officer ballots were on hand for members who had not voted online.  With about equal numbers of votes received online and at the party the following members were elected to represent the Club for the next two years:

Vice President for Political Action     Georgette Gomez

Treasurer                                          Craig Roberts

At-large Board Member                    Cindy Green

All three will begin their terms at the Club's Swearing-in ceremony and reception next month and will join the other officers starting their 2nd year of their two year terms.

While it was an honor just to compete for Oscar predicting prizes, the winners were:

1st     Craig Roberts     15 correct predictions     winning 3 movie passes

2nd    Ryan Trabuco    14 correct predictions     winning $30 movie gift card

3rd     David Warmoth  13 correct predictions     winning 2 movie passes  

We'd like to thank Susan Guinn and Denice Feldhaus, our agents, the cast and crew, the Club and the Academy for this honor. This time we feel it-and we can't deny the fact that you like us, right now, you really like us! 




Is it Time to Re-Up?


The Club depends on membership dues to keep the lights on and promote our candidates and issues to the community. A large number of community members depend on our Voters Guide to help them make an intelligent choice when marking their ballots so your membership renewal is critical to ensure those Guides get into those hands. If your membership has lapsed or if you know you're membership is soon to expire, please re-up now. You might also consider upgrading your membership to a higher level.


You can find out more about the Club's membership levels and benefits online HERE. You can also renew with a credit card there.  If you would prefer to use a check, send the check, made out to Democrats for Equality to:


San Diego Democrats for Equality

PO Box 33050

San Diego CA 92163







San Diego Democrats for Equality is deeply involved with our community and our Party - and the next few months provide many opportunities to join us as we participate with many of the people and groups working to make things better.







Saturday, April 11th, 2015
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
One Park Boulevard, San Diego 92101
6:00 p.m. Reception & Silent Auction
7:00 Dinner and Awards Program

Join us at the San Diego Democrats for Equality table (and qualify for special ticket pricing) by selecting "Club/GO Team Seating" at THIS LINK.


Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast For six years we've participated in the Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast. It's a great opportunity to start your day with your fill of inspiration and purpose without that overly-full feeling that makes you want to go home and go back to bed. 

Join us for the Seventh Annual Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast on Thursday, May 21, 2015, 7:30-9 am at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel, 1 Park Blvd. Attended by more than 1,000 people, businesses, groups and organizations annually, this San Diego event is the largest Harvey Milk celebration in the state of California! 

Thursday, May 21, 2015
7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
1 Park Blvd
San Diego, CA 92101



Get your ticket for the Dems for Equality sponsored table HERE




Club Committees 


Part of our recent By-laws review focused on the plan to move more of the planning and work of the Club from the Board to committees where we could benefit both from more minds thinking about our future and more hands to get us to that future. Please make a commitment to moving the Club forward by participating in one, or more of the Club's committees.

Program/40 Committee - This committee is tasked with developing meetings and events for the Club's 40th Anniversary year. Click HERE to let us know when you are available to meet with this committee.


Fundraising Committee - This committee is tasked with planning events and drives and marketing materials to raise the funds necessary for the Club to continue it's work. Click HERE to let us know when you are available to meet with this committee.


Membership Committee - This committee is tasked with developing marketing materials, programs and events to attract new members and retain existing members. Click HERE to let us know when you are available to meet with this committee.







Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly SpeakerToni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Susan Guinn & Denice Feldhaus
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen
Dr. Bob Pedrick & Josť Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Self Evident Truths
David Warmoth, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975