Dems for Equality eNews

Tuesday, July 22, 2014   

Dems for Equality Shows Our Pride

 Kick-off, Rally, Parade and Festival.  We Were Everywhere



San Diego Democrats for Equality kept our flag flying high throughout the long PRIDE weekend.  We started with our own Kick-off Reception which attracted a good crowd of members and friends as well as officeholders and dignitaries headlined by SDUSD Board President Kevin Beiser and City Council President Todd Gloria. And the food...Once again Great Maple outdid themselves with a spectacular selection of appetizers in a wonderfully Pride festooned venue.





















The Spirit of Stonewall Rally and Flag Raising was well attended by Club members and featured Club member speakers including Speaker Toni Atkins and Council President Todd Gloria. 


We had a prime location at the Festival to register voters and provide candidate information to attendees. 








Our large Parade contingent included not only Club members but representatives of the County Democratic Party - including County Party Chair, Francine Busby - several other Democratic Clubs, and contingents from both Council candidate Carol Kim and candidate for reelection to the School Board, Kevin Beiser.



















 Next Club Meeting


Because of Pride, there will be no Club meeting in July.  Our next meeting will be Thursday, August 28th. The meeting will be at our regular meeting place, Joyce Beers Uptown Community Center, 3900 Vermont St (across from Trader Joe's) in Hillcrest.  6:30 PM for Social Time, Program 7:00 PM.  We will complete our endorsement process for the November General Election as well as elect Board members at our August meeting.





San Diego Democrats for Equality is about to turn the big 4-0


We're beginning to plan the year long party next year and we'd like you to help.  The Club was founded in 1975, which makes next year our 40th year and we would like to make it a BIG one. If you would like to be part of the 40 Committee, send us an email HERE.




Club Seeking Two Additional Board Members



Dems for Equality adopted a By-Laws change that called for two "at-large" Board members.  Board members must be members in good standing of San Diego Dems for Equality.  At-large Board members are expected to attend monthly and specially called Board meetings, as well as manage special projects as requested by the Board.


If you are interested in election to the Board, contact us HERE.






Follow Us on Twitter


You may think you're following us on Twitter, but, you're probably not. 


There is a Twitter handle out there that has our name and logo - and it even automatically tweets our Facebook posts. It is not however owned by us or managed by anyone currently associated with San Diego Democrats for Equality. If you want to follow us on Twitter - and you should - follow @SDDems4Equality. 

For live tweets and all the Club news you can fit into 140 characters, go to



Dr. Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly SpeakerToni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Susan Guinn & Denice Feldhaus
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen & John Logan 
Dr. Bob Pedrick & Josť Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Self Evident Truths
David Warmoth, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975