Dems for Equality eNews

Tuesday, May 27, 2014   


A Toast to the Speaker


San Diego Democrats for Equality Welcome Our Speaker Home



The Club's reception for Speaker Atkins was held Saturday at Bamboo Lounge with an appreciative crowd on hand to toast Toni in her new position. Congresswoman Susan Davis, Councilmember Ed Harris, SDUSD Board President Kevin Beiser, former Assemblymember Howard Wayne and DNC member Jess Durfee dropped by for the toast along with a healthy contingent from Pt. Loma, Clairemont and La Jolla Democratic Clubs.


Toni thanked the Club for its support and let us know that her wife was keeping her grounded in her new position.  Asking if she had to call Toni Madam Speaker, when Toni said yes, Jennifer told her, "well Madam Speaker, take out the trash".


As the first Speaker from San Diego and the first lesbian to hold the office, Toni is breaking through glass ceilings all over.  San Diego Democrats for Equality is proud of our fellow member and former Club Vice-President.  We'll be behind her with whatever firsts she chooses to pursue in the future after her successful tenure in the Assembly.


You can find many more pics from Toni's toast HERE.






San Diego Democrats for Equality has sent questionnaires, interviewed candidates and  debated the relative merits of candidates for most of the offices up for election on June 3rd. We have chosen the candidates we feel are the most progressive champions of equality for all people.

Now, it's your turn.  Click on the Voters Guide to the right and download a larger version of it.  Use it to complete your Vote By Mail ballot and send it in now. Or, take it with you to your polling place on June 3rd. How ever you choose to exercise your voting rights, exercise them.

It's easy. It's fun. IT'S IMPORTANT!

VOTE  -  Vote NOW!  




 Get Involved 


Scott Peters for Congress -

Susan Guinn for Assessor/Clerk -

Carol Kim for City Council -

Sarah Boot for City Council -

Kevin Beiser for School Board-

Democratic Party GO Team -


Donate Money! Donate Time! Get Involved!




Follow us on Twitter


You may think you're following us on Twitter, but, you're probably not


There is a Twitter handle out there that has our name and logo - and it even automatically tweets our Facebook posts. It is not however owned by us or managed by anyone currently associated with San Diego Democrats for Equality. If you want to follow us on Twitter - and you should - follow @SDDems4Equality. 

For live tweets and all the Club news you can fit into 140 characters, go to




Dr. Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly Majority Leader Toni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen & John Logan 
Dr. Bob Pedrick & Josť Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Self Evident Truths
David Warmoth, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975