Dems for Equality eNews

Tuesday, March 11, 2014   


Recap of February Club Meeting


New Club Officers Elected


San Diego Democrats for Equality has elected new officers to lead the group through the next year.  Because of recent Bylaws changes enacted to ensure continuity of leadership, some of the officers were elected for two year terms while others, one year terms.



  • David Warmoth was elected to a two year term as President.  He will succeed current President Doug Case.
  • Georgette Gomez was elected to a one year term as Vice President for Political Action.  She will succeed Carla Kirkwood.
  • William Rodriguez-Kennedy was elected to a two year term as Vice President of Development and Resources succeeding Craig Roberts.
  • Lyn Gwizdak was reelected to a two year term as Secretary.
  • Jeri Dilno was elected to a one year term as Treasurer.  She is succeeding John Gordon.

The new officers will begin their terms of office at a swearing-in ceremony conducted by San Diego City Councilmember David Alvarez at the Club's March 27th meeting.


More Endorsements for the June Primary


Sarah Boot was endorsed for the Second District San Diego City Council seat.  In addition, the club voted to support the appointment of Don Mullen as the interim Councilmember to fill the vacancy in the seat created by the election of Kevin Faulconer as Mayor.  Click here to read the press release about Boot and Mullen.


The club also gave an enthusiastic friendly incumbent endorsement to David Alvarez who is seeking re-election to the Eighth District San Diego City Council seat.


Club member Susan Guinn was endorsed in her campaign to unseat incumbent San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/Clerk Ernest Droneburg.  Click here to read the press release about Guinn. 


Bob Brewer, a candidate who is opposing incumbent San Diego County District Attorney Bonnie Dumanis was rated "acceptable."  Brewer is registered as non-partisan and therefore was not eligible for an endorsement.  A press release about Brewer will be distributed soon.


The club also took action on two Chula Vista races. Mary Salas was endorsed for Mayor and Steve Padilla was endorsed for City Council, Seat 1.  



The club also called upon the City Council to authorize an independent external investigation into recent reported attacks on women by members of the San Diego Police Department. Click here to read the press release regarding this issue.



Save the Date


34th Annual Roosevelt Dinner

Saturday, April 5, 2014

6:00 Reception / 7:00 Dinner

San Diego Hilton Bayfront Hotel

One Park Blvd., Downtown San Diego

$100 for Democratic Club Members  







Gloria Johnson Picked as One of  the

25 Most Influential Women

in San Diego's History


A viewer/reader survey conducted by 10News San Diego selected recently-deceased club member Gloria Johnson as one of the 25 most influential women in San Diego's history. Gloria would have loved sharing the list with her friend, former City Councilmember Donna Frye and the first woman in space, Sally Ride. Click here to see the full list. 

Dr. Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly Majority Leader Toni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen & John Logan 
Dr. Bob Pedrick & Josť Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Doug Case Signature
Doug Case, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975