Dems for Equality eNews

Tuesday, February 25, 2014   


February Club Meeting

 Thursday, February 27

6:30 p.m. - Social 
Please bring a snack item to share.  The club will provide beverages.
7:00 p.m. - Business Meeting


Joyce Beers Uptown Community Center 

Uptown District Shopping Center 

3900 Vermont Avenue, Hillcrest

(Free parking in the Uptown District underground garage; do not park in the surface lot)


Election of 2014-15 Club Officers


Candidate Forums/Presentations  

and Consideration of Endorsements or Ratings:

San Diego City Council, Districts 2 and 8
San Diego County District Attorney

San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk 

Chula Vista Mayor
Chula Vista City Council, Seats 1 and 2   



Political Action Report


The Executive Board is recommending friendly incumbent endorsements for David Alvarez for the Eighth District, San Diego City Council and Patricia Aguilar for Chula Vista City Council, Seat 2. The club will hear presentations and consider endorsements for Sarah Boot, Second District, San Diego City Council; Mary Salas, Chula Vista Mayor, and Susan Guinn, San Diego Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk. Bob Brewer, candidate for San Diego County District Attorney will address the club and request consideration for an "acceptable" rating (since he is not a registered Democrat, he does not qualify for an endorsement). There also will be a candidate forum for Chula Vista City Council, Seat 1, with Steve Padilla and Rob Corcilius seeking the club's endorsement.


The Executive Board is recommending to the membership that the club submit a letter to the members of the San Diego Council supporting the appointment of club member Don Mullen as the interim Councilmember for the Second District.


The Executive Board is also recommending that the club send a letter to the City Council asking for an independent review/audit regarding the pattern of sexual harassment/abuse by San Diego Police Department and the use of City monies by the City Attorney's office to fund a recent investigation of a victim of police sexual abuse.



Nominating Committee Report  


The membership will vote on new club officers at this month's meeting. The Nominating Committee recommends David Warmoth for President, Will Rodriguez-Kennedy for Vice President for Resource Development, Georgette Gomez for Vice President for Political Action, Lyn Gwizdak for Secretary, and Jeri Dilno for Treasurer. Nominations from the floor will be accepted. The club members serving on the Nominating Committee are Stephen Whitburn (Chair), Larry Baza, Greg Bolian and Elaine Graybill. 



Save the Date


34th Annual Roosevelt Dinner

Saturday, April 5, 2014

6:00 Reception / 7:00 Dinner

San Diego Hilton Bayfront Hotel

One Park Blvd., Downtown San Diego

$100 for Democratic Club Members  


Dr. Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly Majority Leader Toni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen & John Logan 
Dr. Bob Pedrick & Josť Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Doug Case Signature
Doug Case, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975