Dems for Equality eNews

Tuesday, February 18, 2014   


February Club Meeting

 Thursday, February 27

6:30 p.m. - Social 
7:00 p.m. - Business Meeting


Joyce Beers Uptown Community Center 

Uptown District Shopping Center 

3900 Vermont Avenue, Hillcrest

(Free parking in the Uptown District underground garage; do not park in the surface lot)



Election of 2014-15 Club Officers

Candidate Forums/Presentations and Endorsements:

San Diego City Council, Districts 2 and 8
San Diego County District Attorney

Chula Vista Mayor
Chula Vista City Council, Seats 1 and 2   


Nominating Committee Report  


The membership will vote on new club officers at this month's meeting. The Nominating Committee recommends David Warmoth for President, Will Rodriguez-Kennedy for Vice President for Resource Development, Lyn Gwizdak for Secretary, and Jeri Dilno for Treasurer. No nomination has been confirmed for Vice President for Political Action. Nominations from the floor will be accepted. The club members serving on the Nominating Committee are Stephen Whitburn (Chair), Larry Baza, Greg Bolian and Elaine Graybill.

In Memoriam
Charles McKain and Bob McWilliams

We were saddened to learn that our dear friend Bob McWilliams passed away on February 9. Bob and his husband Charlie (who passed away in March 2012) had been longtime members of the club and had often opened their beautiful Sunset Cliffs home for club events and candidate fundraisers. Bob and Charlie had been together for 36 years and were married in 2008. They are both deeply missed.


Community Reception to Thank and Honor
Interim Mayor Todd Gloria
Friday, February 28
7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Shiley Special Events Suite, 9th Floor
San Diego's New Central Library
330 Park Blvd., Downtown
Free but RSVP is Required by Monday, February 24
Click here for more details and to RSVP


Save the Date


34th Annual Roosevelt Dinner

Saturday, April 5, 2014

6:00 Reception / 7:00 Dinner

San Diego Hilton Bayfront Hotel

One Park Blvd., Downtown San Diego

$100 for Democratic Club Members  


Dr. Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly Majority Leader Toni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen & John Logan 
Dr. Bob Pedrick & Josť Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Doug Case Signature
Doug Case, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975