Dems for Equality eNews

Thursday, January 9, 2014   



Help David Win!


Mail ballots will be sent next week to San Diego voters to elect the city's next mayor. Democrat David Alvarez is now running neck-in-neck with his special-interest-backed Republican opponent - meaning what you and I do now will determine the outcome on February 11.

The campaign's Kearny Mesa headquarters is at 8316 Clairemont Mesa Blvd., Suite 212, San Diego, 92111 (in the same office complex as the County Democratic Party Headquarters). Precinct walks are scheduled every Saturday at 9:30 a.m. or Sunday at 12:30 p.m.  The campaign also organizes phonebanks every night from 3 to 8 p.m. Click here
to sign up to volunteer or call at 619-420-1330.  


If you'd prefer to make calls from home anywhere in the county, go to for info on how to get started.


Click here to donate to the campaign. Any amount would really help.  


Let's resolve to make history together by electing David Alvarez in 2014!






Join Our Table at the Roe v. Wade Dinner  



The club has purchased a table of ten for the 41stAnniversary  of Roe v. Wade Dinner on Thursday, January 23, 2014. The event will be held at the Joe & Vi Jacob's Center, 404 Euclid Avenue, San Diego 92114. No host cocktails are at 6:00 p.m. and the dinner and program start at 7:00 p.m.



If you are interested in attending please email Doug Case at and click here to pay $60 online (please indicate Roe v. Wade Dinner in the message field). 


The theme this year is "Reproductive Healthcare Access in the Military" and the keynote speaker is Capt. William M. Leininger, MD, (U.S. Navy). The recipient of the Defender of Choice Award is Mattheus E. Stephens, Esq.




Important Notice:

Club Meeting in January will be on
Saturday Morning, January 25


In order to avoid conflict with the Roe v. Wade Dinner, the January club meeting has been moved to Saturday morning, January 25 at 9:00 a.m. at the Joyce Beers Uptown Community Center. We will be conducting candidate forums and considering endorsements in the San Diego City Council races (even number seats are up for election in 2014) as well as the San Diego County District Attorney and Fourth District Supervisor races. Coffee, juice, fruit, and doughnuts will be served, and for those who are available, we will participate in a precinct walk for David Alvarez immediately following the meeting.


Dr. Ashish T. Agrawal & Bryan H. Wildenthal 
Assembly Majority Leader Toni Atkins 
Laurie Black 
Eric Isaacson & Susan Weaver 
Chris Kehoe & Julie Warren
John McConnell & James Kinney 
Don Mullen & John Logan 
Dr. Bob Pedrick & Josť Guzman 
Craig Roberts 
Stephanie J. Swift


Thank you for your continuing support of San Diego Democrats for Equality.

Doug Case Signature
Doug Case, President 
San Diego Democrats for Equality 
Defending LGBT Equality since 1975