2013 Coalition Logo

The Coalition is Seeking Nominations

2014 Coalition Awards



Coalition Awards Criteria

The Coalition Awards are designed to recognize women and law firms or corporate legal departments that have demonstrated outstanding leadership and a passionate commitment to the advancement of women in law.


The Leadership Award will be given to a delegate of the Coalition of Women's Initiatives in Law ("Coalition") who demonstrates commitment and dedication to the Coalition in addition to the criteria set forth below.


The Inspiration Award will be given to a female attorney who serves as an inspiration to other female attorneys and meets the criteria set forth below.


The Benchmark Award will be given to a law firm or corporate legal department that has demonstrated passion and commitment to leading the advancement of women's issues and meets the criteria below. The honored organization will be selected based on its unique approach to increasing the success of gender diversity, its demonstrated efforts to inspire and educate the members of the law firm, legal group, or business to understand the importance and value of gender parity in the legal profession, and its recognition and provision of the tools necessary to increase the number of female attorneys in the highest ranks of the law firm or corporate environment and implement a plan for its members to utilize those tools.


Rules and Regulations

Winners will be selected by the Community Outreach Committee of the Coalition. All submitted entries are the property of the Coalition and may be used by the Coalition for any purpose in connection with The Leadership Award, The Inspiration Award, The Benchmark Award for the promotion of the Coalition, the Leadership Forum or any of the Awards. The Coalition retains the right to publish the names of nominees and recipients.



To nominate a woman for either The Leadership Award or The Inspiration Award, please prepare a letter of nomination describing in 200 words or less why the candidate qualifies for the award. You should include a bio for the nominee, as well as copies of any articles or supporting materials and no more than 3 letters of reference. To nominate an organization for The Benchmark Award, please prepare a letter of nomination describing in 200 words or less the organization's unique approach to promoting gender diversity and its successes in implementing the approach. The nomination should be delivered by hard copy to Julianne Hartzell, 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 6300, Chicago, Illinois 60606, 312.474.6625, jhartzell@marshallip.com by Friday, June 27, 2014.