Updates and Highlights for Attendees







Meeting Sponsors 

Welcome to AAUP 2014
"Open to Debate"
Future of Scholarly Publishing
Future of AAUP
Grant Recipients
Hotel Update
Recommended Reading

Welcome to AAUP 2014

Welcome to the first issue of the AAUP 2014 Registrants Newsletter.

This newsletter will provide periodic updates, news, and tips to help you make the most of AAUP 2014. We encourage all attendees to follow meeting news on Twitter (#aaup14).



"Open to Debate" 

The 2014 Program Committee, chaired by Alisa Plant (Louisiana State), has developed a meeting program around the theme Open to Debate. The 2014 meeting seeks to continue the ongoing, evolving dialogue about scholarly publishing by engaging in a vigorous discussion about our future, not only with other university presses but also with libraries, campus administrators, and media outlets. With a renewed sense of inclusiveness and collaboration, we're open to debate--and to the possibilities.


Embracing our theme, the preliminary program includes such sessions as:

  • Librarians Speak ... About Journals
  • Navigating University Structures
  • Working with Independent Bookstores
  • Researchers' Panel: What Scholars Look for When They Look for Scholarship

The Future of Scholarly Publishing 

On Monday, June 23, hear innovators Mark Edington, Director of Amherst College Press, Joe Esposito, President of Processed Media, and Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Director of Scholarly Communications at Modern Language Association discuss new models in publishing in the plenary session Not Just Open Access.

And you'll find more about looking toward the future in many of this year's concurrent sessions, including:
  • Experimental Formats and Models
  • Altmetrics & Social Media
  • Publishing in the Digital Humanities
  • and more!


The Future of AAUP  

On Tuesday, June 24 at 10:45 a.m., don't miss an opportunity to have your voice heard as we determine the future of our association in Reimagining the AAUP: Evolutionary and Revolutionary Opportunities. Facilitated by the past, present, and future AAUP presidents: Philip Cercone (McGill-Queen's), Barbara Kline Pope (National Academies), and Meredith Babb (Florida), this session will both interactive and informative.



2014 Grant Recipients 

We'd like to extend a special welcome to the grant recipients attending AAUP 2014. The following individuals were selected by a board subcommittee from a competitive pool of very talented applicants, and congratulations are well deserved!



Jasmine Der, Digital Projects Coordinator, Wilfrid Laurier

Sophie Wereley, Editorial Assistant, Chicago 



Rebecca Campany, Director of Marketing, Brookings Institution

Sheila McMahon, Editor, Wisconsin

Rebecca Welzenbach, Journals Coordinator, Michigan



Alison Shay, Editorial Assistant, Acquisitions, North Carolina



Hotel Update 

The original room block at the New Orleans Marriott sold out quickly. AAUP has negotiated a block of additional rooms for $199, plus a $3 nightly occupancy fee and taxes (13%).


To make a reservation, book online or call 888-364-1200 and request the group rate for the Association of American University Presses. Reservations must be made by Thursday, May 29 to get the group rate. The room block will fill before then, so book early! 


If you find the hotel sold out, there are many alternate hotels within walking distance of the conference. Find a a list of alternate options on the AAUP 2014 website. Note that AAUP has made no formal agreements with alternate hotels.



Recommended Reading 

Get your mind in gear for the Monday plenary! Here are several reading recommendations authored by or related to the work of our speakers:

"Evolving Standards and Practices in Tenure and Promotion Reviews" 

by Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Planned Obsolescence


"Lever Initiative Phase One Report Published" 


Joseph Esposito's recent writings on the Scholarly Kitchen blog 




Thank you for registering for AAUP 2014! This newsletter is an ongoing source of updates and highlights for attendees preparing for the conference. An option to unsubscribe is below.