2013 Meeting

Updates and Highlights for Attendees

AAUP 2013

June 20-22



Pre-Meeting Events 


 Preliminary Program


 Hotel & Travel Info




Meeting Sponsors 

In This Issue
Issue #6: Post-Meeting Wrap-Up
Meeting Evaluations
Save the Dates
University Press Week
2013 Constituency Award
New Board, Officers, Committees
Conference Knowledge
Exhibitor Prize Winners
Special Thanks
Media Round-Up

Farewell to AAUP 2013 

Thank you all for making AAUP 2013 a resounding success! Attendance figures ultimately matched our blockbuster Chicago meeting, with 787 attendees--representing almost 300 companies, from 10 countries. The weather was lovely, the program was stellar, and the conversations inspiring--we're already looking forward to next year.


Meeting Evaluations   

Please complete the online meeting evaluation by July 16. Your responses help us to plan future meetings. It's also great way to pass along ideas for next year's program while they are fresh in your mind! The chair of the 2014 AAUP Annual Meeting Program Committee is Alisa Plant, Senior Acquisitions Editor, Louisiana State University Press.



Save the Dates  

We're already looking forward to AAUP 2014 in New Orleans and a trip to Denver in 2015.


2014 AAUP Annual Meeting

June 22-24, 2014

New Orleans, LA


2015 AAUP Annual Meeting

June 18-20, 2015

Denver, CO



Looking Forward: University Press Week  

Advocacy was a running theme of AAUP 2013, and AAUP's next big event is geared to help us all "tell our story better." The second annual University Press Week will be celebrated November 10-16. Now is the time to plan! The UP Week Task Force is busy building additional tools for presses to hold events, boost promotion and help advocate for all our value, but local participation is invaluable to a successful week. Look for more news from the Central Office, and let us know what YOU think!



2013 AAUP Constituency Award: Rebecca Schrader 

Congratulations to Rebecca Schrader, Associate Director of MIT Press and winner of the 2013 AAUP Constituency Award. Schrader has served on the AAUP Board, committees, and task forces; is a frequent presenter at Annual Meetings and other professional development programs; has been an early developer of digital workflows; and more. As one colleague notes, "She is very generous with the help and advice that she provides to her colleagues at MIT, within the AAUP and elsewhere in publishing and the world of scholarship."

The Constituency Award is presented at the Annual Meeting to honor staff at member presses who have demonstrated active leadership and service to the association and the university press community.


New Board, Officers, and Committee Chairs 

New officers and directors at large joined the board in Boston. Barbara Kline Pope (National Academies) is President Elect; Mike Bieker (Arkansas) took office as Treasurer Elect, as Erik Smist (Johns Hopkins) began his term as Treasurer. Jane Bunker (Northwestern) and Leila Salisbury (Mississippi) joined as directors at large.


Peter Dougherty (Princeton) delivered his valedictory speech on Friday, June 21, and we welcomed Philip Cercone (McGill-Queen's) as 2013-2014 President at the luncheon Saturday, June 22.


MaryKatherine Callaway (LSU), Anna Weidman (California), Darrin Pratt (Colorado), and Meredith Babb (Florida) completed their terms and stepped down from the board. We thank them for their service.


Most 2013-2014 Committee Chairs have been named, and committee charges and rosters will be finalized over the summer.


Conference Knowledge   

Session Videos

AAUP video-recorded selected sessions to aid in professional development and awareness if you missed a session. The following sessions were recorded:

  • Three Big Ideas in Publishing (partial)
  • The Art of the Pitch
  • Emergent EDP Workflows: Ideas to Help Cope with Chaos
  • Managing Print Inventory in the Digital Age: Solutions and Business Models
  • Dude, Where's My Metadata?
  • It Happened In Missouri
  • What's Next in Digital Publishing: HTML5, EPUB3, and Beyond
  • Your Title Management System: Buy It or Build It?
  • Everything You Wanted to Know about a P&L and Were Afraid to Ask
  • Reaching the World

Sessions will be posted online over the summer for all to access at no charge, so stay tuned their release. While you're waiting, you can check out videos from 2012.



All session chairs and panelists are invited to share their notes and presentations via the AAUPWiki. If you have PowerPoint slides that you would like to host on the AAUP Slideshare channel, please contact Regan Colestock.



Exhibitor Prize Winners  

Congratulations to the following exhibitor prize winners, and thanks to all who stopped by exhibitor tables to support those who support us:
  • Baker & Taylor, iPad Mini: Toni Gunnison (Wisconsin) 
  • Bibliolabs, One year free subscription to BiblioBoard Library: Marjorie Fowler (North Carolina) 
  • BookComp, Two $100 and one $50 Visa gift card, each with a choice of a $250 credit towards a book typesetting project or a $500 credit towards a book packaging project: Lisa Connery (Illinois), Kathleen Drummy (Harvard), Shaun Manning (Michigan)
  • BookMasters, iPad Mini: Larin McLaughlin (Illinois) 
  • BookPartners, $500 gift certificate towards short run printing: Mark Saunders (Virginia)
  • CCC, $100 Visa gift card: Debbie Graco (Princeton) 
  • CM Books, $50 Visa gift card: Micki Reaman (Oregon State) 
  • codeMantra, Nook: Nigel Fletcher-Jones (American University in Cairo) 
  • CrossRef, iPad Mini: Sylvia Hunter (Toronto) 
  • ebrary, iPad Mini: Jacqueline Mason (McGill-Queen's)
  • Firebrand, iPod Nano: Greg Britton (Johns Hopkins)
  • IBT, $150 Visa gift card: Bernadette Zoss (Indiana)
  • IDS, Free conversion of a book (total 300 pages) to ePub and Kindle .prc: Alice Randell Pfeiffer (Syracuse) 
  • Kopinor, $100 AMEX gift card: Jill Breitbarth (Harvard) 
  • MTC, Kindle: Jim Burr (Texas) 
  • Marquis, $1,000 gift certificate to Marquis Book Printing: Debby Bors (Johns Hopkins) 
  • McNaughton & Gunn, Inc., $100 Visa gift card: Linny Schenck (Princeton) 
  • Shore Design, 50% discount off of publication design services: Sharyn Zasada (Princeton) 
  • Thomson Reuters Core Publishing Solutions, iPad 2: Lynn Werts (Florida) 
  • Thomson-Shore, $100 Visa gift card: Fran Keneston (SUNY) 
  • University of Toronto Press, iPad Mini: Diane Smith (Baylor) 
  • Virtusales, A one-day workshop for your team and a Kindle Paperwhite: Laura Sell (Duke) 


Special Thanks  

Once again, we would like to extend our thanks to the AAUP 2013 Program Committee:

  • Brian Halley, Massachusetts, Chair
  • Claire Lewis Evans, Alabama
  • Jane Hoehner, Wayne State
  • Rachael Levay, Washington
  • Jessica Pellien, Princeton
  • Nathan Putens, Nebraska
  • Janet Rossi, MIT
The committee did a fantastic job organizing a timely and thorough program of sessions and panels. A final thanks as well to our Sponsors  and Exhibitors who help make our Annual Meeting a success.



Media Round-Up  

Jennifer Howard of the Chronicle of Higher Education previews the meeting and follows up with a report from Boston:

"Scholarly Presses' Meeting Puts Emphasis on Connections, Not Crises"

"For University Presses, a Time of Fixing Bridges, and Building New Ones"

Judith Rosen summarizes the meeting for Publishers Weekly:

"AAUP: Bridging Worlds"

Joe Esposito opines on the fortunes of university presses at the Scholarly Kitchen:

"Are University Presses Better off Now than They Were Four Years Ago?"

And Tom Mullaney speaks with several members about the changing university press landscape in Chicago Tribune's Printers Row:

"University presses: a view from the academy"


Thomson-Shore Digital Printing and Fulfillment Services  

Thank you for registering for AAUP 2013! This newsletter is an ongoing source of updates and highlights for attendees preparing for the conference. An option to unsubscribe is below.