Newsletter banner image
Like us on Facebook
Image of Ohio Leader in Flight license plate

Be an Ohio Leader in Flight!

Show your pride in Ohio's aerospace industry and support aviation heritage. Your registration provides $15 to support NAHA's activities.
Tomorrow's heritage 
Ohio aerospace
in the news

Heritage news

Photo of USS Arizona at Pearl Harbor

Remembering Pearl Harbor

Hear and read Dan Patterson's latest aviation heritage  commentary on WYSO Public Radio, 91.3 FM. 
Our partners

National Park Service arrowhead graphic
The National Aviation Heritage Area is a part of the National Park Service's National Heritage Areas program.
December 19, 2013
NAHA awards flight scholarhship
on 110th anniversary of 1st flight  
Brandon White, center, winner of the 2nd Cary-Gum Memorial Flight Scholarship, with (L to R) Frank Winslow, chair, NAHA; Janet Gum, widow of Don Gum; Brandon; Judy Barrazzoto, widow of Mitch Cary, and Phil Beaudoin, president, Wright "B" Flyer Inc. (NAHA Photo) 
Brandon White, 17, of Urbana, received the second annual Mitchell Cary-Don Gum Memorial Aviation Scholarship on Tuesday, Dec. 17, exactly 110 years after the Wright brothers' first powered flights.

National Aviation Heritage Area Chair Frank Winslow presented the scholarship during the annual first flight anniversary ceremony at the Wright Brothers Memorial on Wright-Patterson Air Force Base.

The scholarship pays for up to $1,500 of instruction toward a light sport or private pilot's certificate.

Currently a senior at Urbana High School, Brandon is also enrolled in the Ohio Hi-Point Career Center's Aviation Occupations Satellite located at Grimes Field-Urbana Municipal Airport. He has completed a private pilot ground school and is taking private pilot lessons at Mad River Air on Grimes Field. Brandon also volunteers at the Champaign Aviation Museum, where he is helping to restore a B-17 bomber.

"He hopes not only to learn how to fly but also how to maintain airplanes," Winslow said.

Wright "B" Flyer Inc. President Phil Beaudoin also presented Brandon with an Honorary Aviator membership to Wright "B" Flyer, which is based at Dayton-Wright Brothers Airport in Miami Twp. The Honorary Aviator membership includes a free orientation flight on the Wright "B" Flyer, a modern lookalike of a 1911 Wright Model B airplane.

NAHA created the scholarship to memorialize the late Mitch Cary and Don Gum, Wright "B" Flyer trustees and volunteer pilots who died in an aircraft accident in 2011.

"With this scholarship, the National Aviation Heritage Alliance hopes to create new pilots and by doing so honor our association with Mitch Cary and Don Gum and how they befriended us, as they pursued their passion for flying," Winslow said.

The ceremony honors Wilbur and Orville Wright of Dayton, who built the first successful powered airplane in their west Dayton bicycle shop and flew it at Kitty Hawk, N.C. on Dec. 17, 1903.
Dayton, Outer Banks honor Wrights
Photo of Joe Kittinger with his balloon gondola in background
Joe Kittiinger in National Museum of USAF (Photo: Red Bull)

The two communities most closely tied to the Wright brothers and the invention of the airplane honored them at dinners  on Tuesday, Dec. 17--the 110th anniversary of their first powered flights.

In Dayton, Ohio, where Wilbur and Orville lived and built their airplanes, Aviation Trail Inc.'s annual dinner featured retired Air Force Col. Joe Kittinger, who spoke about his work with the Red Bull Stratos team that supported Felix Baumgartner's successful parachute jump from a balloon at nearly 128,000 feet above the earth, breaking the record Kittinger himself set (102,800 feet) in 1960 in an Air Force research project. Kittinger is a National Avaition Hall of Fame Enshrinee, and his balloon gondola is in the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force. The freefall parachute was also invented in Dayton.

Photo of William Boeing 
William Boeing (Photo: Boeing)
In Kill Devil Hills, on the Outer Banks of North Carolina, where the Wright brothers made their first flights, the First Flight Society honored William Boeing, founder of the Boeing Co., who was inducted into the society's Paul E. Garber First Flight Shrine at the Wright Brothers National Memorial. Amanda Wright Lane, a NAHA trustee, represented the Wright family at the dinner. 
National Aviation Hall of Fame announces 6 enshrinees for 2014

At the Aviation Trail dinner on Tuesday, Dec. 17, the National Aviation Hall of Fame unveiled the names of six individuals to be enshrined at its annual  ceremony in Dayton on Oct. 4, 2014. The six will join a roster of 219 men and women air and space pioneers who have been inducted by the NAHF since its founding in 1962.

Photo of Bertrand 'Bert' Acosta The late Bertrand "Bert" B. Acosta - Built and flew his first airplane in 1910, and soon became one of America's first test pilots and the first aviator commissioned into both the Army Air Service and the Navy. Also a mechanic, flight instructor and aeronautical engineer, Acosta consulted to aircraft companies worldwide and set numerous national and world flight records.

Photo of Alan and Dale Klapmeier Alan & Dale Klapmeier - Alan and his younger brother Dale founded Cirrus Design in 1984 to fulfill their youthful dream of manufacturing a certified airplane of their own design. Within 20 years Cirrus became the market leader in high performance, single-engine, four-seat airplanes. The Klapmeiers' piston-powered designs feature state-of-the-art design and technology, including glass panel cockpits, composite construction and whole plane parachute systems. Today, Alan serves as President and CEO of Kestrel Aircraft Company and Dale as CEO of Cirrus Design.

Photo of Astronaut James A. McDivitt Brig. Gen. James A. McDivitt, USAF (Ret) - After flying 145 combat missions over Korea as an Air Force fighter pilot, McDivitt earned a degree in aeronautical engineering and served as a test pilot at Edwards Air Force Base. Selected as an astronaut in 1962, he served as Command Pilot for Gemini 4 and Command Pilot for Apollo 9, eventually managing the Apollo Spacecraft Program for NASA.

Photo of Emily Howell Warner Emily Howell Warner - Warner was an experienced Colorado flight school manager, flight instructor and FAA designated flight examiner holding multiple ratings when she was hired by Frontier Airlines in 1973, earning her additional distinction as the first female captain of a scheduled, jet-equipped U.S. airline. She amassed more than 21,000 flight hours over her career.

Photo of Steve Wittman The late Sylvester "Steve" J. Wittman - Learned to fly and built his first airplane in 1924, and competed in his first air race in 1926. Wittman managed the Oshkosh, Wisconsin airport (now named Wittman Field) and operated an FBO and flight school there while continuing to design, construct and fly innovative aircraft. Wittman's homebuilt kit plans have sold in the thousands. His final air race was in 1989, at age 85.

Source (text and images): National Aviation Hall of Fame
The National Aviation Heritage Alliance (NAHA) is a private, not-for-profit corporation designated by Congress as the management entity of the National Aviation Heritage Area. The Heritage Area encompasses an eight-county area in Ohio (Montgomery, Greene, Miami, Clark, Warren, Champaign, Shelby and Auglaize counties.) NAHA's vision is to sustain the legacy of the Wright brothers and make the Dayton region the recognized global center of aviation heritage and premier destination for aviation heritage tourism.

PO Box 414 * Wright Brothers Station * Dayton, OH 45409