October 8, 2013 
Tracy Dean

Skowhegan Savings Acquires Five Franklin County Branches  


SKOWHEGAN, Maine - Skowhegan Savings announced today that it has acquired Camden National Bank's five Franklin County branches located in Farmington, Kingfield, Phillips, Rangeley and Stratton. First announced in May, the transaction closed as expected on Friday, October 4, and Monday, each of the five Camden National Bank branches opened as Skowhegan Savings. With the acquisition, Skowhegan Savings now has 15 branches serving Somerset, Kennebec, Penobscot and Franklin Counties.


"Over the past month, we have been communicating with our new customers to help them transition as smoothly as possible from Camden National accounts to Skowhegan Savings accounts," said John Witherspoon, President and Chief Executive Officer for Skowhegan Savings. "We are very pleased with the favorable initial response we have received from our new customers, and we look forward to becoming a vital part of these communities."


Commensurate with the acquisition, Skowhegan Savings conducted a series of ribbon cutting ceremonies at the newly acquired branches. The ceremonies, which were held on Monday, were attended by local dignitaries and bank personnel.

Ribbon cutting ceremony in Stratton: (left to right) John Witherspoon, President & CEO Earl; Wyman Jr., Selectmen;  Jodie Caldwell, Teller III;  Debora Plouffe, Branch Supervisor;  Sandra Scribner, Town Assessor of Eustis/Stratton

About Skowhegan Savings:
Skowhegan Savings, founded in 1869, is an independent mutual savings bank dedicated to strengthening the Maine families, businesses and communities it serves. Named as one of Maine's Best Places to Work in each year from 2009-2013, Skowhegan Savings' team of friendly, committed employees takes pride in delivering personalized, competitive banking services offering straight forward banking advice and fair deals for customers. An innovative and progressive approach to banking ensures their customers enjoy a banking experience that is quick, easy and convenient. Skowhegan Savings' ten Maine branches include two locations in Skowhegan, as well as locations in Augusta, Belgrade (full service ATM only), Bingham, Dexter, Fairfield, Jackman, Madison, Norridgewock, and Pittsfield. For more information, visit or contact Customer Service at 800-303-9511.