Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Dear Local Group and Regional Leaders and Contacts,     Teacher of Peace strip


Sr. Patty asked me to send a special request to you inviting you to nominate someone for this year's Teacher of Peace Award. All of the information is below.




Johnny Zokovitch

Director of Communications, Pax Christi USA


This year, Pax Christi USA will honor an outstanding peacemaker with the Teacher of Peace Award, in the tradition of Sr. Thea Bowman, Cesar Chávez, Dorothy Day, and Pope Paul VI. This award recognizes women and men whose lives and work exemplify the theme of Pope Paul VI's World Day of Peace message, "To reach peace, teach peace."


Past recipients of this award include: Dan Berrigan, SJ; Roy Bourgeois; Sr. Joan Chittister, OSB; Msgr. Ray East; Bishop Thomas Gumbleton; Kathy Kelly; Helen Prejean, CSJ; Martin Sheen; and Ruben Garcia. To see a complete list of Teacher of Peace Award recipients, click here


All nominations must be received by email or postmarked by April 11, 2016 to be considered. When sending in your nomination by email, please include "Teacher of Peace nomination" in the subject line.


To see a list of criteria for nominations and to download the nomination form, click here.