Feb 2012 Banner

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Greetings!Teacher of Peace strip


Each year, Pax Christi USA honors an outstanding peacemaker with the Teacher of Peace Award, in the tradition of Sr. Thea Bowman, Cesar Chávez, Dorothy Day, and Pope Paul VI. This award recognizes women and men whose lives and work exemplify the theme of Pope Paul VI's World Day of Peace message, "To reach peace, teach peace."


Past recipients of this award include: Dan Berrigan, SJ; Fr. Roy Bourgeois, MM; Sr. Joan Chittister, OSB; Msgr. Ray East; Bishop Thomas Gumbleton; Kathy Kelly; Helen Prejean, CSJ; and Martin Sheen. Last year's recipient was Ruben Garcia, the founder and current director of Annunciation House in El Paso, Texas. To see a complete list of Teacher of Peace Award recipients, click here


All nominations must be postmarked by May 11, 2013 to be considered.  


To see a list of criteria for nominations and to download the nomination form, click here.


In Christ's peace,


Johnny Zokovitch

Director of Communications, Pax Christi USA


PS: For more resources from Pax Christi USA, visit us on the web at www.paxchristiusa.org.