AIC Logo EnglishAIC Monthly Report

June 2013

2013 AGM

The AIC 2013 Annual General Meeting took place by teleconference call on Monday, June 24. Thanks to all members who participated. The minutes of the meeting, President's message and program reports can be read here and will also be posted in the members only section of the AIC website.


The meeting was chaired by AIC President, Lynn Lashuk. She expressed AIC's thanks to the many volunteers who make the activities of our organization possible, and particularly in supporting the scientific journals, accreditation and international programs.


She also thanked corporate sponsor Aon, whose financial contribution to AIC is being used in part to support the 2013 conferences of the Canadian Society of Animal Science and Canadian Society of Soil Science.  Half of the contribution to CSSS is being used to support the Women in Science Luncheon Workshop, scheduled for July 24.     


Yungblut This was the last meeting for AIC Director Dr. Doug Yungblut. Doug joined the Board in 2007, and was elected President in 2010. In 2011 he resigned from the Board in order to become part time CEO, leading AIC's restructuring discussions. He rejoined the Board in November 2012. Our sincere thanks to Doug for six years of commitment and service to AIC.  



Ali_Madani Dr. Ali Madani joined the Board at the AGM. Dr. Madani was a professor in the Department of Engineering at the College of Agriculture (NSAC) of Dalhousie University in Nova Scotia from 1984 to 2011. He was involved in teaching, conducting research and providing extension services in the area of drainage, water quality, water table management, and constructed wetlands. He is now the manager of the Canadian Society for Bioengineering and an adjunct professor at McGill University. Dr. Madani is a Distinguished Life Member of the Nova Scotia Institute of Agrologists and is a Fellow of the Canadian Society of Bioengineering. Welcome Ali!


Lianne Dwyer, Lynn Lashuk and Robert Gordon are returning to the Board to serve a second three year term.


2013-2014 AIC Board of Directors


Lynn Lashuk, PAg  

Lianne Dwyer, PhD  

Robert Gordon, PhD 

Richard Heck, PhD, PAg  

Shahrokh Khanizadeh, PhD

Ali Madani, PhD  

Al Scholz, PAg, CAC 

Julie Small, PhD


Officers for 2013-2014 will be elected at the next meeting of the AIC Board of Directors.




Letter to Minister Ritz


AIC and 12 other Canadian scientific societies jointly wrote to federal Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), Gerry Ritz, to express concern regarding new Treasury Board restrictions on travel for federal government employees.   The impact of the policy will be substantial reductions in attendance at conferences by federal government scientists, and an impact on the business of Canadian scientific societies.

The Minister's response can be read here.  The letter references "prudent stewardship of public funds" and asserts that AAFC scientists are "continuing to provide leadership at plant science society meetings where attendance is merited."  It does not acknowledge there will be any impact on the scientific societies.    





AIC LogoAgricultural Institute of Canada
9 Corvus Court
Ottawa, Ontario  K2E 7Z4
613.232.9459 / 1.888.277.7980

Frances Rodenburg, Editor