Congratulations to the 2016
We Kan! Award Winners!

Full news release

The 24th annual We Kan! awards were announced May 7, 2016 at the Kansas Sampler Festival in Winfield. The awards are presented by the Kansas Sampler Foundation as appreciation for dedicated work in helping preserve and sustain rural culture.
Foundation director Marci Penner said, "Each year it is our pleasure to recognize ten people who do a great deal to keep our state moving forward."

The awards plates are made by Steve and Jane Fry of Elk Falls Pottery. 
Jane Brophy, Chanute
Chanute Area Chamber of Commerce and Office of

Cheering for Chanute

Shari Butler, Elkhart
Cimarron National Grassland

Passion for the Grassland

Sarah Green, Wichita
Bridgette Jobe,  Kansas City

Seeing the Big Picture

Liz King, Park City, UT
Liz King Design (Marci's sister)

Designed Generosity

Ken & Shirley McClintock,
Council Grove

Making History Delicious

Larry & Jan Olson,
Hill City

Stumpin' for RV Parks & Campgrounds

Sue Stringer, Topeka

Andrea Springer & Steve Snook, Hutchinson

Good Thinkers for Kansas

Adam Wagner, Greensburg
Twilight Theatre

You've Been Good for Kansas

as presented by Sally Frame and granddaughters Sena and Scout

In memory of Jim Mathes and Fred Burgess.  For creativity and teamwork:

City of Madison

Lucas Area Chamber of Commerce

Click here to see past winners

Kansas Sampler Foundation board members:
Shelia Lampe, Piqua; Christy Hopkins, Tribune; Eric Montgomery, Lawrence;
Shari Wilson, Kansas City; Andrea Springer, Hutchinson