Rye City School District ▪ 411 Theodore Fremd Ave Suite 100S, Rye, NY 10580 ▪ (914) 967-6100 

 Board Notes  


2013-2014 Board of Edu
Laura Slack, President ▪ Katy Keohane Glassberg, VP  
Karen Belanger ▪ Edward M. Fox ▪ Nancy Pasquale ▪ Chris Repetto ▪ Nicole Weber

A Summary of the 10/22/13 Rye City School District Board of Education Meeting


Rye Recognition of Excellence Awards 
The meeting began with a special presentation of Rye Recognition of Excellence Awards, a tradition initiated by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Frank Alvarez last year. Eighteen Rye High School students were honored for earning various distinctions through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Claudia Hentschel, Olivia Iles, and Elliot Meister were named National Merit Semifinalists, a status that goes to approximately 1% of students in the nation. The National Achievement Scholarship Program was established in 1964 to provide recognition for Black American students. Hannah Billingsley earned this honor. The National Hispanic Recognition Program identifies academically outstanding Hispanic/Latino students. Evan Miranda, Elizabeth Rodriguez, and Sebastian Saavedra are among approximately 5,000 recipients of this honor out of over 200,000 who were eligible. George Bryant, Samantha Carter, Ryan Costa, James Forster, Grant Janart, Daniel Keller, Phoebe Keller, Luke McGinty, Carolan Moses, Elizabeth Reynolds, and Sarah Schreib were all acknowledged as National Merit Commended Students, an honor given to a little over 2% of students nationwide. All of these distinctions are based on the students' PSAT scores from last year. Dr. Alvarez presented certificates to each of these students and applauded them for their academic achievements. 
Superintendent's Report

Dr. Alvarez provided a report to the Board and to the community, announcing the recent news that the Garnets Football Team was victorious in the annual Rye-Harrison game held on October 19. He congratulated the team members as well as Coach Dino Garr and his assistants, along with Director of Physical Education, Health and Athletics Mr. Robert Castagna and Rye High School Principal Mrs. Patricia Taylor. RHS student Connor Murphy was granted the Chris Mello Award during the game. Dr. Alvarez also shared that the National Honor Society inducted 111 students on October 17 and extended praise to these scholars as well. Dr. Alvarez reminded the public that on November 12, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment Dr. Betty Ann Wyks will report to the Board on her analysis of the state test results.

Committee Charges
The Board of Education approved the 2013-14 Board of Education Committee Charges. Several of these committees are currently seeking applicants from the community who would like to serve as members. Please read the attached Call for Committee Members notification if you are interested in being considered for one of the specified committees. 
Board President Mrs. Laura Slack expressed gratitude, best wishes and thanks to Mrs. Susan Cicelsky, Senior Office Assistant in the Special Education Department, for her many years of service to the District. The Board accepted Mrs. Cicelsky's retirement effective December 2013 on the agenda. Mrs. Cicelsky was first hired as a teacher aide at Osborn Elementary School 27 years ago, and held various positions as a teacher aide, teacher assistant, and receptionist before taking on her most recent role. 

Next Regular Meeting
November 12, 2013
8:00 pm 
Rye Middle School    Multipurpose Room

Visit our District website for complete information on Board of Education meetings, minutes, policies and actions.


can be accessed on the District website.  Videos should be available 2-3 days after each Board meeting.  Past meeting videos are also accessible.

Watch the video of Board of Education meetings on Cablevision channel 77 and
Verizon Fios channel 40.
The RCTV programming schedule can be found on the District website.