A Publication of the Alabama Section of the Institute of Transportation Engineers

Volume XLV - Issue 3

Fall 2015

ALSITE Quick Links
View our profile on LinkedIn   Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter  View on Instagram  Visit our blog


Upcoming Events
ALSITE Fall Meeting
Thursday, October 29
Prattville, AL
GRITS Annual Meeting
October 11-14
Biloxi, MS

2015 Officers 



Jeff Stephenson


Vice- President

Rod Turochy



Clark Bailey


Affiliate Director

Darrell Vines


Assistant Affiliate Director

Dan Vincent


Southern District Representative

Becky White


Immediate Past President

Greg Dawkins


Contact an Officer

President's Message
Jeff Stephenson, P.E., PTOE
ALSITE President
This year has just flown by! It seems like yesterday when Greg Dawkins passed the gavel to me in Auburn, and not all that long ago for being elected to join the Board of Directors. I have learned so much in these past three years. It has been an honor to be the President of this wonderful organization and to serve each and every one of its members. You make this organization what it is. The service you provide to the community and to our profession make me so proud to be a part of it.

ALSITE mourns the passing of Richard Kramer and Bob Wolfe this year. Richard was a long time member of the Alabama Section known for his "out-of-the-box" thinking and innovative solutions. Bob was a founding member of the Alabama Division. Bob and his wife, Barbara, were fixtures at nearly every single meeting. Their efforts in the early days helped lay the groundwork for the success we continue to see in the organization today.

Our Fall Meeting will be held on Thursday, October 29 at Capitol Hill in Prattville. We would love to have a great turnout for this meeting. The 2015 Charles E. Alexander and Billy Jones Scholars will be recognized, and current Southern District ITE President Bill Seymour (Kentucky) will be in Alabama to formally welcome the newly established University of South Alabama ITE Student Chapter. Be sure to thank Robby Anderson (City of Prattville) for doing an excellent job pulling everything together for the meeting.

As many of you know, ALSITE meets three times a year . We also remain active between meetings. To stay up to date on what we're doing as an organization, check us out at and follow us on social media.

Thanks again for the opportunity to serve on your Board of Directors.

2016 ALSITE Officer Election Results
Submitted by Jeff LaMondia


Many thanks to all the ALSITE members that voted in the 2016 elections!  

We are happy to announce that the new officers for the 2016 calendar year are:

Rod Turochy, President
Clark Bailey, Vice President
Cody Long, Secretary/Treasurer
Becky Malenke, Southern District Representative
Dan Vincent, Affiliate Director
Daniel Driskell, Assistant Affiliate Director

2015 ALSITE Fall Meeting
Submitted by Rod Turochy

The fall 2015 ALSITE meeting will be held at the Montgomery Marriott Prattville at Capitol Hill (The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail facility in Prattville) on Thursday, October 29.  Items on the technical program include traffic signals, work zones, and lessons learned from an ITE scan tour "down under", among others.  We will also recognize this year's ALSITE Scholarship winners (Elizabeth Lim and Rachael Thompson) and present the charter for the new ITE student chapter at the University of South Alabama.

ALSITE Member's Painted Sculpture Unveiled
on Mobile Bay's Oyster Trail
Submitted by Jennifer White, Written by Jeff LaMondia
Photo Credit: Mobile Bay National Estuary Program 

This past September another painted oyster shell was unveiled at the GulfQuest Maritime Museum as part of the Alabama Oyster Trail.  This beautifully painted shell, titled "Estuary Gifts", was created by James Foster, Mobile County Traffic Manager, past ALSITE President and ALSITE Transportation Professional for the Year 2012.  

Foster painted a series of detailed views of the Mobile Bay, its geography, and a map of the watershed region across the 4-ft tall fiberglass oyster shell.  The piece is part of a coastal program designed to highlight the environmental and economic  growth of the Mobile Bay, sponsored by the Mobile Bay Estuary Program and Thompson Engineering/Watermark Design.  Well done!


Both DSITE and ALSITE presented several awards at the Annual Banquet during the Annual 2015 Meeting in Gulf Shores, AL.  DSITE President Nicole Stewart presented the following awards:
  • Bob Mabry - W. Hibbett Neel Award
  • Brian Fulton - John F. Exnicios Award
  • Jeff Smith and Alison Catarella-Michel - President's Award
ALSITE President Jeff Stephenson presented the following awards:
  • Marybeth Bergin - Outstanding Young Member Award
  • John McCarthy - Transportation Safety Award
  • Jim Stewart - Transportation Professional of the Year
  • Becky Malenke - Transportation Engineer of the Year
Harold Raynor is the recipient of a Special Citation for Meritorious Service. Harold was not able to attend the meeting, and will be recognized at the ALSITE Fall Meeting.
Two scholarships recipients were acknowledged at the meeting. Elizabeth Lim will receive the Charles E. Alexander Memorial Transportation Engineering Scholarship, and Rachael Thompson will receive the Billy Jones Memorial Traffic Engineering Scholarship. The scholarship recipients were not able to attend the meeting, and will be recognized at the ALSITE Fall Meeting.

Bob Mabry

Brian Fulton

Jeff Smith

Suzanne Dees,  DSITE Past President Award

Marybeth Bergin

John McCarthy

Jim Stewart

Becky Malenke

Greg Dawkins, ALSITE Past President Award

2015 ALSITE NEWS Sponsors

Thanks to our current ALSITE NEWS Sponsors! 





Vulcan Signs




Become a sponsor today!


A big THANK YOU to our current ALSITE NEWS sponsors - we appreciate your commitment to ALSITE!


If you would like to become an ALSITE NEWS sponsor, please contact Jeff LaMondia by email, at [email protected], or by phone at 334.844.6284.

Note:  This email was sent to the ALSITE email distribution list via Constant Contact.  If there is anyone to which you wish to forward this email, please consider utilizing the "Forward email" link below instead of using the Forward function from within your email program.  The "Forward email" link is provided by Constant Contact in order to preserve the original format, appearance, and content of the email.  Format, appearance, and/or content can be unintentionally altered when forwarding from within your email program.