Announcing the
2015 Academy of Law Alumni Fellows

We are pleased to announce the 2015 inductees to our Academy of Law Alumni Fellows, the highest honor the Maurer School of Law can bestow.


This year, in a special ceremony, we honor two people whose remarkable contributions to the law school and the legal profession will last for generations to come: Len Fromm and Lauren Robel.  


Leonard D. "Len" Fromm 

Leonard D. "Len" Fromm served as assistant dean for students and alumni affairs at the law school from 1979 until 2012. Fromm was the true heart and soul of the law school: He was often the first administrator a new student would meet, and it was his booming tenor that would call their names at commencement three years later. Fromm described the position as his "dream job," allowing him to use all aspects of his academic background in his service to the students, law school, and university community at large. Fromm's lasting impact on the law school is immeasurable. His absence, after passing away from cancer in February 2013, has left a void at the school that will never be replaced. We honor his life and contributions to the law school posthumously, and look forward to seeing his family and friends next month.        


Robel 2.13
Lauren K. Robel

Lauren K. Robel, JD'83, became provost and executive vice president of Indiana University Bloomington in 2012 after serving as dean of the law school for 10 years. Provost Robel was the first woman to serve as dean of the law school and also served as president of the Association of American Law Schools. Under her decade of leadership, the law school witnessed extraordinary growth, including a $92.5 million fundraising campaign that culminated in transformative gifts from the Lilly Endowment, Inc., and Michael S. (Mickey) Maurer, JD'67; the establishment of new research centers and global study programs; and a dramatic increase in national rankings. She has been the recipient of numerous teaching awards at the law school, including the Leon Wallace Teaching Award, the Trustees Teaching Award, and the Gavel Award from members of the graduating class. Her public service has been recognized with the Indiana State Bar Foundation's Pro Bono Publico Award and the Indiana State Bar Women and the Law Recognition Award.    


The inductees will be honored at a formal reception on Friday, April 17, in the Indiana Memorial Union's Tudor Room. A cocktail reception will begin at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and the induction ceremony at 7 p.m. A formal invitation is forthcoming and should arrive in your mailbox soon. For more information, call the Alumni Office at 812.855.9700.   


March 2015
Stay connected
Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView our profile on LinkedInView our videos on YouTube
Upcoming events
Join Dean Austen L. Parrish and fellow alumni for these receptions in April:

Thursday, April 9
5:30-7:30 p.m.
Gordon Biersch
3242 Peachtree Road Northeast

Monday, April 20
Time and location TBA
Check the Alumni Events page on the Maurer website

Tuesday, April 21
5:30-7:30 p.m.
Jackson Walker LLP
19th Floor
1401 McKinney Street

RSVP to or
Remember the Fund for Excellence
The Fund is Indiana Law's Give now 12 unrestricted account for scholarships and faculty and student support. Click the Give Now button to make your gift via the IU Foundation's secure website.