June 2015 News:

Library Closed Sundays
Sun. May 24 - Sun. Sept. 6

Thurs. July 9 - 2:30 PM
Summer Celebration
Thurs. July 23 - 6 PM

Terrific Tuesdays
July 14, 21, & 28 - 2:30 PM 
Children & Families

Lego Club
Mon. July 13 & 27 - 3:30 PM

Family Fun Craft Night
Tues. July 14 - 6:00 PM

Wed. July 15 - 6:30 PM
Pop in and Play
Mon., July 20 & Aug. 3 - 10 AM & 6:30 PM

Through August 12
Wednesdays at 1:00 PM

Through July 30 
(no story time July 23)
Thursdays at 10:00 AM

Thurs. July 16 & July 30 - 4:00 PM
4th grade & up

Fri. July 17 - 2:00 PM
Grades 7-12 

Fri. July 31 - 2:00 PM
Grades 7-12

Thurs. August 6 - 1:00 PM
It wouldn't be summer without a celebration-
custard, games, trolley rides, and live music all combine to make summer awesome! It's all possible thanks to generous help from the Friends of the Library, the Shorewood Womens Club, Culver's, Sendik's, and others. Don't miss it! Thursday, July 23 at 6:00 p.m.

Join us as local author/illustrator Andy Rash brings his super skills to a family story time on Wednesday, July 15 at 6:30 p.m. Andy will lead you through an interactive superhero-themed story as you create a one-of-a-kind hero to save the day!
Teens: geek out with all things John Green!
On Friday, July 17 at 2:00 p.m., you are invited to celebrate the release of the Paper Towns movie and geek out nerdfighter style. DFTBA!
Stone Soup Shakespeare's second annual visit this year performing Much Ado About Nothing was great fun, in spite of the cold!
Tinker Labs

Hands-on learning for hands-on fun! Kids & teens in 4th grade and up can join our "tinker-librarian" Lisa for two Tinker Labs this month: July 16 and July 30, both at 4:00 p.m.
Drop in and experiment while learning more about coding, gears and

Tie Dye

Dye-ing to learn a new DIY skill? Come check out tie dye on Thursday, July 9 at 2:30 p.m. All ages and skill levels are welcome. Please bring a white or light-colored piece of clothing or accessory to dye. We will have a limited number of t-shirts and pairs of socks for sale to benefit the Teen Advisory Board.You bring your creativity, we'll bring the colors!
Terrific Tuesdays

What makes Tuesdays so terrific? We fill them with magic, theater, juggling, martial arts, music, insects, and animals. WOW! Terrific Tuesdays are every Tuesday through July 28 at 2:30 p.m. in the Village Center Meeting Room (lower level).

A monthly update from the Friends of Shorewood Public Library



Summer is a great time to enjoy the fruits of your labors.  The Friends of the Shorewood Public Library are doing just that! Earlier this year, the Friends donated funds raised from memberships and book sales to support the library's summer reading programs, the Summer Celebration, Lucky Day book collection, adult non-fiction book collection and June's Shakespeare in Shorewood event. These programs are great for all ages and make us proud to be part of this vibrant community resource. 


Browse the library calendar and you will find something happening almost every day this summer. Of course, a summer day spent reading in the cool, quiet of the library is always a treat as well. With no meetings in July and August, our Friends board members have more time for reading. Check out some reflections on summer reading and some book recommendations on the library's blog.


We hope to see you at the Summer Celebration on July 23. Please continue to support our used book sale and contact us if you would like to volunteer. Join us in making the library a great place to read, learn and be part of the vibrant Shorewood community. 


To find out more about the Friends, including how you can participate in activities this summer, email shwd.libraryfriends@gmail.com or visit the Friends' web page.
Recommendations from Shorewood Library staff! For even more recommendations, follow our staff blog and explore our curated booklists (genres, topics, read-alikes and more).

Pride directed by Matthew Warchus

Kate the clerk says this is, "a beautiful, entertaining film about solidarity and the common good."

Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver

Emily recommends this classic cozy mystery by a debut author (who got her start shelving at Greendale Public Library!) saying, "Fans of Christie, Crombie & Greenwood will rejoice."
The Martian
by Andy Weir

Hayley enjoyed the adventure of interplanetary travel during her summer vacation with Weir's first novel about one astronaut's will to survive in an unforgiving environment.
Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter