Shorewood Library e-news header image


April 2014 - In This Issue:
@ a Glance
Children & Families

Family Fun Craft Night
Tuesday, April 8
6:00 p.m.
Learn More

Lego Club
Thursday, April 24
4:00-6:30 p.m.
Grades 1+
Learn More

Lapsit & Toddler Storytimes
Monday mornings & evenings in April. Call 847-2670 or visit our website for available spots

Author Visit: Michael Hall
Thursday, May 8
4:00 p.m.
Learn More


Knit & Stitch
Friday, April 18
1:00 p.m.
Learn More


Milwaukee MakerSpace Invasion
Wednesday, April 30
3:00 p.m.
Learn More
Coming Soon: Bestsellers on the Shelves
It could be your lucky day with our new collection of high-demand books
Here's how it goes: you come in to see if the latest blockbuster is available at your favorite library. You don't see it, so you mosey over to the information desk to inquire how you can get it. The friendly librarian informs you that sadly there is a 150 person waiting list for it. "Would you like to be on the list?"

According to the survey we conducted last fall, not being able to find new books quickly is a problem. While we buy new books as they're released, everyone in Milwaukee County wants to read them right away resulting in the dreaded "Waiting List." Isn't it great that we're a county of readers?!  


To help with this conundrum, we've decided to create a "Lucky Day" collection. We will still buy bestsellers to fill holds on the waiting list, but we will also purchase additional copies that will be un-holdable - that is, they will only be available on a first come, first served basis. Say you have placed a hold on The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt, and while waiting for it you come to the library and find it on the "Lucky Day" shelf - it's yours! And it has indeed been your lucky day.


The Lucky Day collection will be appearing soon! It is made possible by a generous donation of $2500 from the Friends of Shorewood Public Library.


Back to top
Keep in Touch with Shorewood
New Village-wide newsletter helps you stay organized & in touch
Last month, you may have received a postcard featuring all the ways you can connect to Village groups, from the School District to the BID to the Library. It was a joint creation of the organizations represented, and is just one piece of a campaign to streamline the way Village events are publicized. You can now sign up for a quarterly email newsletter that details three months of events held in the Village by the major groups represented (Village government, Library, School District & Business Improvement District). What a handy tool to keep in touch with us! Sign up and you'll never miss out on all the fun in Shorewood again: Keep In Touch Newsletter

Get hands-on!
Milwaukee MakerSpace visits to celebrate Screen-Free Week, April 30, 3pm
Screen-Free Week (May 5-11, but Shorewood Schools are celebrating April 28-May 2) is dedicated to getting us away from the screens we all spend too much time with, and out doing something hands-on and interactive. We thought this year we'd help inspire you by bringing Milwaukee Makerspace to Shorewood.

Milwaukee Makerspace is both a group and a space: the group unites people who like to tinker, invent & create, and the space is open to members 24/7 with access to tools and materials of all sorts. They foster creativity, community, and a hands-on, DIY ethos that is becoming more popular as people rediscover how to build, grow & make things they might otherwise buy.

A talented craftsperson from the Makerspace will visit us to share tools, ideas and products you too could make with your very own hands (and possibly a soldering gun). What better inspiration to spend less time staring at a screen?!

April Update for Kids & Families
Ms. Heide has some news you can use about what's happening for Shorewood's kids & families this month:

Train Set Fundraising - Our much loved, much used train sets are nearing the end of the line. The Friends of the Library are accepting donations to purchase a new train table and trains. If you'd like to help keep our "choo choos" chugging, you can drop a donation in the jar at the Library's Customer Service Desk.


Culvers Art Contest - Culvers is recognizing National Library Week with a drawing contest. Kids, 4 to 11 years old, can celebrate a favorite book by drawing a picture about it. Each artist will receive a certificate for a free single scoop of Culver's Frozen Custard and be entered in a random drawing for a special prize. One entry per person. The contest will run April 14 - 19.


Upcoming events for kids & families:  


Family Fun Craft Night: Tuesday, April 8, 6-7:30pm - Drop in with the whole family to make something bright and beautiful to update the yard for spring - a windsock or a recycled bird feeder.  


Lego Club: Thursday, April 24, 4:00 pm - Kids in first grade and older can drop in on Thursday, April 24 to build all kinds of Lego creations. Get inspired: come see what was built last month, on display in the kids area.


Look for our events calendar on our website, as well as program updates and reminders on and Twitter @ShorewoodLib


Back to top 

Put a Spring in Your Step with New Magazines
Read up on gardening and more - for free

According to our latest crop of magazines, Spring is here! Until Spring is really here, do some reading and be prepared to hit the ground running once it thaws. Everyone loves growing tomatoes and the current issue ofOrganic Gardening has a best practices guide sharing tips on planting, protecting, and caring for your plants. Mother Earth News might have been thinking of our small Shorewood yards when they put together the article called, "Grow More Food in Less Space (With the Least Work!)." These magazines and many others are on the shelves or available through Zinio.


Back to top
May We Recommend
Looking for something different to read or watch? Check out these recommended titles from our staff!
  • Everything is Perfect When You're A Liar by Kelly Oxford - YA librarian Emily recommends this memoir of Twitter celeb Oxford for fans of Tina Fey, Mindy Kaling and other funny women.
  • One Summer: America, 1927 by Bill Bryson - Kate the Clerk says Bryson's history book is, "a good way to get in the mood for baseball season."  
  • The All Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg- Assistant Director, Joe, says the author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, "takes us on a journey of discovery and self-awareness that will make you laugh, cry and wish it all would never end." Plus, he notes, you'll learn about the WASPs, the first women to fly in the military who forever changed women's roles in aviation. 
  • Mission to Paris by Alan Furst - Another recommendation from Joe, who says this one is, "a first-rate tale complete with historical accuracy and exciting, atmospheric locales with charming, multi-faceted characters."  
Crave more book, movie & CD recommendations? Visit our staff blog weekly for new picks, old picks & just-for-fun picks that we think you'll love. You can also browse our booklists for tons of ideas for what to read next.

Back to top 

From the Friends
A monthly update from the Friends of Shorewood Public Library

Friends' First-Time Media Sale A Big Success


The Media Sale sponsored by The Friends of the Shorewood Library in February and early March raised $1,238.50, helped clear out some of the library's storage areas and resulted in more support for new library materials and programs.  


"We were pleasantly surprised at the success of the Media Sale," said Friends Board Member and Volunteer, Alice Davis. Davis, her mother, Jane, and sister, Maggie, organize the ongoing used book and media sale located across from the library's front desk. Davis said they, "were not having much luck selling the media on the used book shelves, so we'd put them in storage each week."  


Library Director Beth Carey said that the money raised by the Friends goes toward purchasing items for the collection and equipment for the library as well as for events such as author visits and children's programs.    


Read more about the media sale on the Shorewood Library blog.


Members of the 2014 Friends Board of Directors 

Priscilla Pardini, President
Marcy Bidney, Member
Joan Spector,Vice-President
Alice Davis, Member
Jeannée Sacken, Secretary
Ann Keenan, Member
Barbara Mahoney,Treasurer
Susan Lofton, Member
Jean Gurney, Library Board Liaison
Anne O'Meara, Member
Beth Carey, Library Director
John Shafer, Member
Bonnie Wiesmueller, Member




Back to top

If you wish to stop receiving these monthly emails from Shorewood Library, please use the SafeUnsubscribe option below. When you unsubscribe via SafeUnsubscribe, you are placed on a Do Not Mail list, ensuring that you never receive our monthly e-newsletters or event updates again.

You will still receive hold request notices, overdue notices, etc. via email if you have chosen email as your library account contact preference.


Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter