BuzzingAboutBooks
 
          


IN THIS ISSUE

Tova Mirvis


LINKS


Subscribe to
Buzzing About Books


Tell Us About
Your Book Club


Book Recommendations

Author Recipe Index

Novel Noshes

Buzzing About Books Index

KidsBuzz

Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter
April 1, 2014

Greetings:

This month, we're featuring Visible City by Tova Mirvis,
a novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood.

Enjoy!

Judy Gelman and Vicki Levy Krupp
info@bookclubcookbook.com
bookclubcookbook.com 

FirstBlock       
Visible City
by Tova Mirvis

Fiction / 256 pages / Hardcover

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt  /
March, 2014

  

Dear Readers,

I started writing Visible City when I moved from an apartment in New York City to a house in the Boston suburbs. One of the things I missed most about living in the city was the way your life always brushes up against the lives of strangers. From our own windows, we catch glimpses into other people's apartments. On the streets, we pass the same people every day but know little about them.

This interest in what we see of strangers was the origin of Visible City. I started with a character named Nina, a young mother who watches her neighbors out her window. At first watching them is a way to escape from the monotony of her own life. But I think we are all changed when we watch other people, and as the novel progresses, Nina becomes intertwined in the lives of her neighbors, forcing all of them to examine their own choices and desires. In this book, I wanted to think about the desire and comfort of stability and also, about what happens when we feel the terrifying, and exhilarating, urge for change. In Visible City, all of my characters are forced to look at their buried desires and ask themselves what they want for the future.

Thank you for reading my novel.

Tova Mirvis 

TOVA MIRVIS IS GIVING AWAY 5 COPIES OF VISIBLE CITY.  ENTER TO WIN A COPY.
 
About Visible City: 

For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change.
 

Reviews of Visible City:    


"This dark, witty...comedy about deceptive appearances evolves into a moving examination of intimacy's limitations."
-Kirkus

"Mirvis focuses her artful prose on the inner lives of modern women and those they love as they face the possibilities of change."
-Booklist   

 

To learn more, visit Tova Mirvis's website and follow her on Facebook and Twitter.

 

Tova Mirvis is available to speak to your book club by phone, Skype, or in person. Contact Tova to arrange a discussion.







 
Copyright 2014 Book Club Cookbook. All rights reserved.