OACAA Briefing
The latest news from OACAA and Ohio CAAs
April 2015 - In This Issue:
Northwestern Ohio Community Action Commission (NOCAC) 2015 Hunger Banquet. Read more in Network News. 
The Community Action Agency Network is made up of more than 1,100 local, private, non-profit and public agencies, created through the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964. 

Ohio is made up of 48 agencies serving all 88 counties in the state. 

The Community Action Promise

"Community Action changes people's lives, embodies the spirit of hope, improves communities, and makes America a better place to live. We care about the entire community, and we are dedicated to helping people help themselves and each other."
LEADS Volunteer of the Year Award

LICKING COUNTY - During the LEADS 13th Annual Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon, LEADS honored Dr. Brandon Canfield D.D.S. as the Volunteer of the Year.

Dr. Canfield volunteered his time and that of his dental hygienist to serve children at the LEADS Newark Center
Read more
Hunger Banquet: An Experience to Remember (video)

In March, Northwestern Ohio Community Action Commission (NOCAC), with the support of local businesses, caterers and partner organizations, hosted the 2015 Hunger Banquet in Williams County. This banquet was not your typical fundraising event but instead, it was an experience to remember. As guests arrived, they were greeted by individuals holding cardboard signs-not signs that directed them to the venue or the parking lot, but signs that said, "homeless veteran," "will work for..." and "I used to be someone you could talk to." A family of four stood next to their truck, with two young teenagers huddled in blankets watching their parents politely ask nearly 200 guests if... Read more.

Community Action in Action: Photo Winners!

Grand Prize Winner: 

Dental Health, 

Submitted by Lorain County CAC


Over forty entries were submitted to the 2015 Community Action in Action Photo Contest! Three photos, one from each category were selected as category winners by popular vote. The Grand Prize winner was selected by a committee of staff and board members. Click here to see all of the winners for 2015. 

Annual Summer Conference