September 12, 2013

Academy of American Poets Prizes

The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce its annual series of poetry prizes. This year, the organization has awarded over $200,000 to poets at various stages of their careers. 

$100,000 for outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry


Philip Levine

2013 Recipient: Philip Levine 


Nominated and elected by the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors






Credit: Jim Wilson/The New York Times

$25,000 for distinguished poetic achievement


Carolyn Forche

2013 Recipient:  Carolyn Forché


Nominated and elected by the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors







Credit: Don J. Usner

$25,000 for the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year
Patricia Smith

2013 Recipient: 
Patricia Smith's Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah (Coffee House Press, 2012)

Judges: Cornelius Eady, Claudia Emerson, and Gregory Orr 





Credit: Rachel Eliza Griffiths

$5,000 for an outstanding second book of poetry  

Jillian Weise  

2013 Recipient: Jillian Weise's The Book of Goodbyes (BOA Editions, 2013)


Judges: Jeffrey McDaniel, Brenda Shaughnessy, and Susan Wheeler




Credit: Guillermo Morizot Hires  

$25,000 and a residency at the American Academy in Rome for a forthcoming translation of modern Italian poetry into English
John Taylor

2013 Recipient: John Taylor
For his forthcoming translation of Selected Poems by Lorenzo Calogero

Judges: Barbara Carle, Victoria Surliuga, and Anthony Julian Tamburri

Submit for the 2014 Raiziss/de Palchi Book Award 
beginning September 15. The judges will be Barbara Carle, Luigi Fontanella, and Giuseppe Leporace.

Credit: Justin Taylor 


$1,000 recognizing a published translation of poetry from any language into English

2013 Recipients: Cynthia Hogue and Sylvain Gallais's translation of 
Virginie Lalucq and Jean-Luc Nancy's Fortino Samano (The Overflowing of the Poem) (Omnidawn, 2012)

Sylvain Gallais
Judge: Erin Mouré 


Submit for the 2014 Harold Morton Landon Translation Award beginning September 15. The judge will be David Hinton.









Credits: Hogue, University of Arizona Poetry Center; Gallais, Lesley Poteet


The following awards were announced earlier this year: 


Walt Whitman Award

First-book publication, $5,000, and a one-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center for an American who has not yet published a book of poetry


Chris Hosea

2013 Recipient:
Chris Hosea for Put Your Hands In
Forthcoming from LSU Press

Judge: John Ashbery


Submit for the 2014 Walt Whitman Award beginning September 15. The judge will be Rae Armantrout.

The Academy of American Poets sponsors over 200 annual college prizes, distributing close to $25,000 each year to young poets.


The recipients will be honored at the Poets Award Ceremony, presented by the Academy of American Poets as part of the annual Poets Forum.The event is free and open to the public.