The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce that poets Marilyn NelsonClaudia Rankine, and C.D. Wright have been elected Chancellors of the Academy of American Poets
Selected by the current Board of Chancellors, Nelson, Rankine, and Wright will serve as ambassadors of poetry and advocate for the organization's programmatic work. They join an illustrious group of poets to have previously held the position, including John Ashbery, W.H. Auden, Elizabeth Bishop, Lucille Clifton, and Adrienne Rich.
Academy of American Poets Chancellor Arthur Sze praised Marilyn Nelson's selection, saying: 


"Marilyn Nelson's poetry is remarkable for its sheer range of voice and style, for its historical roots, and for its lyrical narratives that, replete with luminous details, unfold with an emotional force that, ultimately, becomes praise. ...She is a vital ambassador of poetry."
About Claudia Rankine, Academy Chancellor Mark Doty said:


"Claudia Rankine's formally inventive poems investigate many kinds of boundaries: the unsettled territory between poetry and prose, between the word and the visual image, between what it's like to be a subject and the ways we're defined from outside by skin color, economics, and global corporate culture. This fearless poet extends American poetry in invigorating new directions."


Poems by Rankine 

We Heard Health Care

The End of the Alphabet [Difficult to pinpoint]

Academy Chancellor Anne Waldman said of C.D. Wright

"Brilliantly astute, generous, witty, panoramic, celebratory, C.D. Wright is one of our most fearless writers, possessed with an urgency that pierces through the darkness of our time. She carries a particular Southern demographic that bears witness, that investigates history, humanity, and consciousness in powerfully innovative, often breathtaking language. Hers is a necessary poetics, on fire with life and passion for what matters."

Poems by Wright

And It Came to Pass

One With Others [It was hotter then]


January 16, 2013
Current Board 
of Chancellors
The Academy would like to extend our deepest gratitude to Chancellors Lyn Hejinian, Sharon Olds, and Carl Phillips, whose terms as Chancellors have concluded.
Marilyn Nelson photo © Fran Funk; Claudia Rankine photo © John Lucas; C.D. Wright photo © Forrest Gander; Sharon Olds photo © David Bartolomi; Carl Phillips photo © Doug Macomber