Aug. 25, 2014
Highland Park ISD celebrates top teachers


The Highland Park Independent School District is proud to announce its Teachers of the Year for the 2014-15 school year: 

                                                                                                             Photo by Brad Bradley 
First row: Ashley McCutchin, Sarah Weatherford, Jennifer Torres and Brianna Ridell; Second row: Superintendent Dr. Dawson Orr, Melissa Conner, Ashraf Mobh, Margaret Maki- Rowland and Chad Coffey
  • Ashraf Mobh - Armstrong fourth-grade teacher 
  • Margaret Maki-Rowland - Bradfield science teacher
  • Ashley McCutchin - Hyer second-grade teacher 
  • Jennifer Torres - University Park art teacher
  • Sarah Weatherford - MIS sixth-grade social studies teacher
  • Brianna Riddell  - HPMS seventh-grade Texas history teacher
  • Chad Coffey - HPHS government teacher
HPISD's Teachers of the Year were selected by their campus peers. Ashley McCutchin and Chad Coffey represented the district in the Region 10 Teacher of the Year contest, and they delivered inspirational speeches during the superintendent's convocation program Aug. 18.


Teachers of the Year receive a $1,000 gift from the HP Education Foundation with support from La Fiesta de las Seis Banderas.


McCulloch Intermediate School staff member Melissa Conner was presented with the HP Education Foundation's John and Eileen Howie Community Service Award. Education Foundation President Will Beecherl presented the $5,000 award, which was established through the foundation by the Howie family and their friends. It is awarded annually to both a graduating senior and a teacher in HPISD for their commitment to community service.



Click here to view a photo slideshow from convocation.


Click here for biographical sketches of each of the Teacher of the Year winners and the Howie Award winner.

Copyright (c) 2014 Highland Park Independent School District, All rights reserved.