HBGFC LogoLike us on Facebook  


May, 2015

Join Our Mailing List 


Corporate Sponsors





Galati Yacht Sales  


Bac Trac Plumbing Logo   



Elite Diesel Logo  


 Pelican Rest  


Tilson Logo 




 Allure Logo

Cajun Canyons 2013




Farquhar Financial Services  


  Gartner Coatins 




 The Tarp Depot 






Del Papa Bud 2013    




 Paparda Rey  


R&S Yacht Service 




Texas Legends Logo  






Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Richard Richardson Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

Rustic Furniture Land 

 Serious Tackle 

Silver King Adventures

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's
Monthly Newsletter
On the Wire
Annual Banquet
Thank you to our banquet donors, buyers and guests who helped to make the 11th Annual Banquet a success.  With your support and generosity, we sold over $98,000 in the raffle and live auction!

We would like to congratulate Captain Sean Welsh for winning the 4th Annual Jim Peachey Outstanding Captain Award!  

Jasen Gast was another big winner of the night, accepting trophies for Top Private Boat, Top Male Angler, 1st Place Swordfish, 1st Place Wahoo and 2nd Place Blue Marlin!



Scholarship Logo Scholarship Applications - DEADLINE




Do you know of a Texas student who you feel could benefit from a Houston Big Game Fishing Club scholarship? 

For Scholarship Program information, visit HBGFC Scholarship Program. The deadline to apply for a scholarship is July 1, 2015. 


The Lone Star ShootoutLike us on Facebook
Lone Star Shootout

The 2015 Lone Star Shootout is on a record entry pace and the VIP Early Entry Deadline is May 15th.


After last year's record breaking million dollar tournament, the 2015 Shootout is breaking records for early entries! The limited number of prime slips in Caracol are filling up fast.


Loyal Shootout teams, Legacy, Big Torch, Bimini Babe, Nereus, Sun Doll, REHAB, Over-Ride, Relentless Pursuit, Paparda Rey, Sea Dollars, Relentless and more have entered and secured their slips. New comers to this year's field include Load N Go, Wild Hooker, Conundrum and more are getting in to fish for the big payouts and $1,000,000 reward for a record blue marlin.


If you received a VIP Shootout invitation, you can secure one of the remaining slips close to the action and be entered in the drawing for free dockage by submitting your Shootout entry to [email protected] or Click Here to enter via PayPal!  Only VIP entries received by May 15th are eligible for the free Caracol dockage drawing on Wednesday, May 20th. 


All entries, VIP and new entrants, received by June 30th will be entered in a drawing for an entry fee reimbursement of $1,750!


If you did not receive an invitation please email an invitation request to [email protected] or call 409-744-2307.


Visit www.thelonestarshootout.com for entry forms, tournament information, side pot options, event schedules and much more! 
Tournament Season Kick-Off Party
The second annual HBGFC Tournament Season Kick-Off Party will be held on Saturday, June 20th at the Bridge Harbor Marina in Freeport.  Join your Club friends from 4:00pm - 8:00pm for barbecue and a brew or two!
News from The Billfish Foundation
The Billfish Foundation
May means that the fishing season goes into full swing for anglers in the Gulf. As captains and crews start inspecting their tackle, checking bilges, and getting ready, TBF wants to make sure that everyone is also aware of the new regulations on bluefin tuna in the Gulf. For detailed information on bluefin tuna regulations, Click Here or visit TBF at www.billfish.org.
2015 Club Awards Program

Get involved in the year long tournament by submitting a verification form for each catch and release! Click here for Club Awards Program information and verification forms.


Texas Division - Points are now on the board!  Randy King's Paparda Rey is the current Top Private Boat with 2,250 points.  Stephen Yamin is holding 1st Place Wahoo division with a 66.8 pound catch and Jack Beal is holding a close 2nd Place with a 65.9 catch.


International Division -  In the International Division,  Tom Shumate's Patron is back on top with 15,050 points and Darryl Schroeder's Dream Time is in 2nd Place with 10,200 points.  Tom Shumate is also holding the Top Male Angler category with 13,450 points, Alan Latham is in 2nd Place with 8,700 points and Bob Henderson is in 3rd Place with 6,400 points.  New Club member Sondra Shanklin is the current Top Female Angler with 600 points.  The Junior Anglers are making a showing this year with Kassidy Nethery in 1st Place with 1,900 points, new Club member Jack Shanklin is in 2nd Place with 1,700 points, Sloan Shanklin is in 3rd Place with 1,400 points, and Kyleigh Nethery is in 4th Place with 1,150 points. 

Sponsors of the Month
Steve Thomas, owner and director of Cajun Canyons Billfish Classic has been an active member and Corporate Sponsor of the Club since 2007 by generously donating to the Club's Annual Banquet yearly.  Since 2009, Steve's donations have raised over $12,000!!!  Thank you for your continued support Steve!

Elite Diesel Logo Elite Diesel Service has been a Corporate Sponsorship since 2008. In addition to monetary donations, Elite Diesel Service supports the Club by contributing to the Club's Annual Banquet and the Lone Star Shootout.




Del Papa Bud 2013 Since the Club's inception in 2004, Del Papa Distributors have supported the Club by donating valuable merchandise to the Club's Annual Banquet as well as donate beverages to the Lone Star Shootout.  Thank you Del Papa Distributors for your longtime, loyal support of the Club.
Captain's Corner

Fishing is off to a good start on the upper coast. Lots of wahoo, tuna and blues already. It looks like our snapper season will not be good again with only ten days for the recreational fisherman. But it is what it is and we will have to concentrate on other species, which I will hope keeps everyone moving on and getting geared up for the tournament season!


We are sad to report that Captain William "Billy" Evans passed away on Friday, April the 10th. Billy was known far and wide by many in the fishing community. He was best known for his long career on the Topaz and the Adelante where he manned the helm for the past twenty-four years. He was inducted into the "Texas Saltwater Fishing Hall of Fame" in 2009. His legacy left an indelible mark on the many friends he made along the way.  
Michael Thorn-Leeson, President
Robert Rickett, 1st Vice President
Jasen Gast, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Richard Richardson, Secretary 
Allan Legge
Brandon Perthuis
Brian Yeager
Jack Beal 
Kevin Deerman 
Randy King
The Houston Big Game Fishing Club
7819 Broadway, Suite 100
Galveston, Texas  77554
T: 409-744-2307, F: 409-744-2313