HBGFC LogoLike us on Facebook  


January, 2015

Join Our Mailing List 


Corporate Sponsors





Galati Yacht Sales  


Bac Trac Plumbing Logo   



Elite Diesel Logo  

Kona Coast Dental Care


Pelican Rest  



Tilson Logo 




 Allure Logo

Cajun Canyons 2013



Escondido Ranch     


Farquhar Financial Services  


  Gartner Coatins 



Release Marine    

 The Tarp Depot 





Del Papa Bud 2013        




 Paparda Rey  


R&S Yacht Service 




Texas Legends Logo  






Big House South 

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Deb-Mark Enterprises DBA McDonald's
Houston Home Security Judge

Island Bicycle Company

JB1 Marine Surveys

Marlin Mud Flaps

Mattress Land and Furniture 

Richard Richardson Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

SM Lures

Serious Tackle 

Silver King Adventures

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's
Monthly Newsletter
On the Wire
Happy New Year!
2014 was the Club's 10th year in existence and what an incredible year it was!

We started 2014 with a tremendously successful Annual Awards Banquet at the Omni Hotel in Houston and followed it up with the always exciting Bloody Thursday Breakfast in Port O'Connor where we had the opportunity to meet and recruit several new members.  The following week we hosted the Lone Star Shootout with 64 boats in attendance and the largest payout in the Club's history!  With the proceeds from the Shootout, over $52,000 was donated to the Club's Charitable Program which funded the Club's Annual Fun Fishing Day and donations made to The Billfish Foundation, Warrior's Weekend in Port O'Connor, the Water Activity Day Event Program for young adults and children, the Ronald McDonald House and the Port O'Connor Toy Run.  We ended the year with a Club record breaking 330 members and 45 corporate sponsors!

All of the Club's successes are thanks to you, our members and corporate sponsors.  We greatly appreciate you and your continued support and look forward to breaking more records in 2015!  
Annual Awards Banquet
Mark your calendars, save the date and plan to attend the Club's annual PARTY on April 18, 2015 at the Omni Hotel, Galleria, Houston!

Join the Club for a delicious dinner, premium open bar, awards presentation and live auction and raffle all while supporting the Club's Charitable Programs.

It's a party that you won't want to miss! 
Tournament season is right around the corner and we have already starting planning the 2015 Lone Star Shootout.

Plan to fish the Lone Star Shootout, the tournament with the largest payouts for a modified release format in the Western Gulf! $1,054,700 PAID OUT IN 2014!

July 21 - 26, 2015
Caracol Yacht Club, Port O'Connor, Texas


For more information, visit www.thelonestarshootout.com.

Port O'Connor Toy Run
We would like to thank each of you who participated in the Annual Port O'Connor Toy Run.  Due to your incredible generosity, we collected over $4,000 in new toys and bicycles which were donated to the 12th Annual Port O'Connor Toy Run benefiting over 2,000 boys and girls in 11 counties along the Texas coast. We also want to thank Club Director Robert Rickett and Mr. and Mrs. Claus Jack and Carol Beal for braving the chilly weather to transport the toys to Port O'Connor!
2015 Membership
2015 Membership renewal packets have been mailed!  If you did not receive your packet, please email the office at [email protected] or give us a call at 409.744.2307. We would like to thank our loyal Club members who have already renewed their 2015 memberships! Click Here for a 2015 membership form or renew via Paypal
2014 Club Awards Program

The 2014 Club Awards Program is coming to a close. Final results will be published on February 1, 2015.  If you have any December 2014 verification forms to submit, please do so no later than 30 days after your catch/release.  


Texas Division Jasen Gast's REHAB is still in first place Top Private Boat with 7,124.4 points and Brandon Perthuis' Chase This is in second place with 5,350 points.  George Gartner's Legacy is in third place with 4,395.4.  Jasen Gast currently holds first place Top Male Angler with 6,874.4 points, Brandon Perthuis is in second place with 2,250 points and Richard Richardson holds third place with 1945.4 points.  Jasen Gast is also leading the Top Wahoo Division with a 93 pound catch. Melinda Nethery and Pam Basco are tied for first place Female Angler with 750 points each.  Debbie Conway is leading the Top Yellowfin Tuna Division with 110 and 87 pound catches.  Andrew Ferguson is leading the Top Dorado Division with a 49 pound catch and Richard Richardson is leading the Top Blue Marlin Division with a state record breaking 972.7.  Jasen Gast is in second place with a 687.2 pound catch.   


International Division -  In the International Division, Tom Shumate's Patron is still leading the Top Private Boat Division with an incredible 111,300 points!  Darryl Schroeder's Nemesis is in second place with 58,950 points and Mike Miller's Gringo Honeymoon is now holding third place with 41,000 points.  Hill Dishman's Allure is currently the Top Charter Boat with 35,150 points.  Tom Shumate also holds first place Top Male Angler Division with 50,450 points, Darryl Schroeder is in second place with 23,100 points and Bob Henderson is in third place with 16,850 points.  Lori Schroeder is the current Top Female Angler with 5,800 points. Lisa McGlone Miller is now holding second place with 2,500 points and Nancy Frazer is in third place with 2,100 points. 

The Billfish Foundation The Billfish Foundation
Click Here to check out the latest news from The Billfish Foundation!
Sponsors of the Month
Founding Club member Chris Gonzales has been an actSerious Tackleive member and supporter of the Club since 2004.  Chris generously donates to the Awards Banquet every year.  Thank you Chris for your loyal support since 2004!

Jim Glandt, Owner of Yacht Equipment Service Centers actively supports the Club yearly as a monetary corporate sponsor as well as generously donating to the Annual Awards Banquet auction and raffle. 

Mike Johnston of Sullins Johnston Rohrbach and Magers has been an active member and corporate sponsor of the Club since 2005.  In addition to his annual monetary contribution, Mike also donates to the Club's Awards Banquet and fishes the Lone Star Shootout yearly.
Captain's Corner
Happy New Year to everyone! It seems like this past year went by so quickly but that just means we will be back fishing before you know it. I haven't heard any Wahoo reports yet but I'm sure they will be coming in shortly. Hopefully we will see some weather windows open up between cold fronts so that we can get back on the water. For all of you that are Wahoo fishing, don't forget to tip your weigh master! They are providing their services as a favor to the Club. Hope everyone has a great year and good luck fishing in 2015.
Michael Thorn-Leeson, President
Robert Rickett, 1st Vice President
Jasen Gast, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Richard Richardson, Secretary
Allan Legge
Brandon Perthuis
Brian Yeager
Jack Beal
Kevin Deerman
Randy King
The Houston Big Game Fishing Club
7819 Broadway, Suite 100
Galveston, Texas  77554
T: 409-744-2307, F: 409-744-2313