HBGFC LogoLike us on Facebook  


May, 2014

Join Our Mailing List 



Corporate Sponsors





Galati Yacht Sales  


Bac Trac Plumbing Logo   



Elite Diesel Logo  

Kona Coast Dental Care


Pelican Rest  

Release Marine     


Tilson Logo 




 Allure Logo

Cajun Canyons 2013



Escondido Ranch     


Farquhar Financial Services  


  Gartner Coatins 





 The Tarp Depot 





Del Papa Bud 2013        




 Paparda Rey  


R&S Yacht Service 




Texas Legends Logo  






Big House South 

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Deb-Mark Enterprises

Island Bicycle Company

JB1 Marine Surveys

Marlin Mud Flaps

Mattress Land and Furniture 

Richard Richardson Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

SM Lures

Serious Tackle 

Silver King Adventures

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's
Monthly Newsletter
On the Wire
10th Annual Awards Banquet
Thank you to our banquet donors, buyers and guests.  With your support and generosity, we raised over $85,000 in raffle and auction sales at the 10th Annual Awards Banquet!

We would like to congratulate Captain John Cochrane for winning the 3rd Annual Jim Peachey Outstanding Captain Award!   Richard Richardson and Mandy Yeager were also big winners of the night.  Richard won the Texas Top Blue Marlin and Top Male Angler divisions and Mandy won both the Texas and International Top Female Angler Divisions as well as the Texas 3rd Place Dolphin Division!

Visit HBGFC.com to view all of the Banquet pictures.

For a list of all 2013 Club Award winners, Click Here.

The Lone Star ShootoutLike us on Facebook
Lone Star Shootout 

We have already received 15 paid entries thanks to the great response from our VIP members who are returning to the Shootout for the 2014 Tournament and some new Shootout participants! 


Thanks to our loyal Shootout participants Natasha Rookh, Nereus, Bimini Babe, Legacy, Sundoll, Bottom Dollar, Contingent Sea, Honesty, Dream Catcher, Mechanical Man, and REHAB for their support!  Each of these boats will be entered in a VIP drawing to win a full entry refund of $1,750! If you received a VIP Shootout invitation, you can still enter the full refund drawing by submitting your Shootout entry to [email protected] or Click Here to enter via PayPal!  VIP ENTRIES MUST BE RECEIVED OR POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN 5:00PM, MAY 15th!  The drawing will be held Monday, May 19th.  Good luck to all our VIP entries. 


All entries received by July 7th will also be entered into a drawing for an opportunity to win a $2,500 side pot allowance


You will want to get your entry in early.  With 15 paid entries to date, the prime tournament slips are filling up and all slips are assigned based on the date of entry on a first come, first served basis. 


If you did not receive an invitation please send us an invitation request to [email protected] or call Heather Harper at 409-744-2307.


Visit www.thelonestarshootout.com for tournament information, side pot options, forms, event schedules and much more! 

Scholarship LogoDo you know of a Texas student who you feel could benefit from a Houston Big Game Fishing Club scholarship? 

For Scholarship Program information, visit HBGFC Scholarship Program.

The deadline to apply for a Houston Big Game Fishing Club scholarship is July 1, 2014. 
2014 Club Awards Program

Get involved in the year long tournament by submitting a verification form for each catch and release! Click here for Club Awards Program information and verification forms.


Texas Division- Jasen Gast's Rehab is still in first place in the Top Boat category with Brandon Perthuis' Chase This in a close second place. Jasen Gast holds first place in the Top Male Angler category with Mike Hartman in second place. Jasen also holds first place in the Top Wahoo category with a 93# catch.  Debbie Conway is in second place with a 58# pound catch and Brandon Perthuis holds third place with a 57# Wahoo. 


International Division  

-  In the International Division, Darryl Schroeder's Nemesis is still leading the Top Boat division with an incredible 32,650 points and Will Lett's Boo-Lo is in second place with 18,150 points.  Hill Dishman's Allure is currently the Top Charter Boat with 35,150 points.  Buddy Schultz holds first place in the Top Male Angler category with 11,050 points and Jasen Gast  holds second place with 7,250 points and Darryl Schroeder is close behind with 6,200 points.  Lori Schroeder is now leading the Top Female Angler division with 1,100 points and Carla Hadley is in a close second place with 900 points and Marita Schultz holds third place with 750 points.
Sponsors of the Month
Hill and Donelle Dishman, active members of the Club since Allure Logo 2006, have generously donated to the Annual Awards Banquet for the past six years.  In the past six, their incredible donations have raised over $25,000!  Thank you all for your continued support over the years!

Tilson Logo Since 2010, Tilson Home Corporation has been a vital Corporate Sponsor of the Club.  Tilson not only sponsors the Club but also sponsors the Lone Star Shootout as well.  Thank you to Tilson Home Corporation and 2014 Club President Michael Thorn-Leeson for your continued support.

Cliff Mountain, owner of Bac Trac Plumbing joined the Club in Bac Trac Plumbing Logo 2011 as a Corporate Sponsor and member.  Cliff and his wife Sherri have generously donated to the Annual Awards Banquet for the past three years!  Thank you for your support!
The Billfish Foundation
TBF took part in the second Saltwater Recreational Fishing Summit in Washington, DC where anglers, captains, scientists, and fisheries managers worked together to set priorities for recreational fishing both regionally and nation-wide. During the conference, groups evaluated past achievements and the current challenges facing recreational fishing and set goals for the future. The highlight of the week came from Assistant Administrator Eileen Sobeck declaring that NMFS will develop a national recreational fishing policy by stating "I commit that NOAA Fisheries will actively engage the recreational fishing community, and we will do our part to find cooperative solutions." This is instrumental for the recreational fishing industry going forward, particularly with the reauthorization of the Magnusson Stevens Fisheries Conservation Act currently taking place, as it sets recreational fisheries as a priority.
Captain's Corner
We recently lost a great friend, fisherman, and member of the Club Monty Scruggs. Monty passed away less than a week after receiving the 2013 3rd place Top Boat division at the Club's annual awards banquet.  His son Cody also won the Top Junior Angler and 2nd place Yellowfin Tuna divisions.  Monty, his wife Carrie and their family and crew attended the awards banquet to accept their trophies. Monty will be missed by all who knew him.  Our thoughts and prayers go out to his family.
Michael Thorn-Leeson, President
Kevin Deerman, 1st Vice President
Marc Gentry, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Kevin Harper, Secretary
Brian Yeager
Deano Merrigan
Richard B. Richardson
Robert Rickett
Russell Potter
The Houston Big Game Fishing Club
7819 Broadway, Suite 100
Galveston, Texas  77554
T: 409-744-2307, F: 409-744-2313