biplane logo                                                               



                                                  College of Liberal Arts  

CoLA Color


CoLA Weekly


Friday, May 1, 2015  


It's Friday! The last day of Spring Semester.  And tomorrow we will congratulate the more than 2100 students (370 from CoLA!) who will graduate from Wright State.  There is much to celebrate.


It's Friday! The last day of Spring Semester.  And tomorrow we will congratulate the more than 2100 students (370 from CoLA!) who will graduate from Wright State.  There is much to celebrate.


And Celebrate we shall! A number of CoLA faculty received University Awards - they were nominated by you, voted on by both the CoLA and University P&T Committees, and voted on by the Board of Trustees at this morning's Open Session. So a BIG Congratulations to:


Hank Dahlman, Music and CELIA - University Professor. The University Professor award is reserved for full professors who have made outstanding contributions beyond the confines of their own discipline. No more than three members of the faculty may hold the title of University Professor at any one time, and there may be no more than one University Professor in a college simultaneously. The title of University Professor is for five years and comes with an annual stipend and professional development funds.

Chris Hall,
English - Frederick A. White Distinguished Professor of Professional Service. This award is reserved for faculty who have provided exceptional service to the University and the community through outstanding leadership and other significant contributions. The title Distinguished Professor is awarded for a three-year period and carries an annual stipend and professional development funds.

Jack Dustin, 
Urban Affairs & Geography - Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence: Community Engagement Award. This award recognizes a faculty member who has been instrumental in helping the university achieve its mission of transforming the communities it serves. The award can recognize teaching, research and/or service that demonstrate the ways community partnerships can enhance learning and serve the public good. This award is for one-year and carries a stipend.

Drew Swanson,
History - Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence: Early Career Achievement Award. This award recognizes excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service during the formative years of a junior faculty member's initial appointment. This award is for one-year and carries a stipend.


The Board of Trustees also voted on the following faculty on promotion and tenure.

     Promotion to Professor:
              Erik Banks, Philosophy

              In-Hong Cha, Music

              Christopher Chaffee, Music

              Erin Flanagan, English

              Noeleen McIlvenna, History

              Kathryn Meyer, History

              Randall Paul, Music

     Promotion and Tenure to Associate Professor

              Shreya Bhandari, Social Work 

              Karla Huebner, Art & Art History 
              Crystal Lake, English

              Jeremy Long, Art & Art History

              Danielle Rante, Art & Art History


I hope you had the chance to see the 2015 edition of Best Integrated Writing: Journal of Excellence in Integrated Writing at Wright State University. This annual publication by the Department of English Language and Literatures seeks to publish excellent student writing from Integrated Writing courses in the Wright Core and in the majors. This current volume contains four essays by students in CoLA:

  • Inter-tribal Disunity: An Analysis of Inter-tribal Conflict During the Black Hawk War of 1832 by Megan Bailey for HST 3000;   
  • The Barb Report by Elizabeth Schoppelrei for ENG 4830;
  • Circular Thinking: An Original Analysis of Lord of the Flies by John Callon for ENG 4560;
  • Woodrow Wilson's Ideological War:  American Intervention in Russia, 1918-1920 by Shane Hapner for HST 4220.

Thank you to Noeleen McIlvenna, History, Erin Flanagan, English, Nancy Mack, English, and Sean Pollock, History, who nominated these essays, and to founding editor Scott Geisel, English, who spent much of the year meeting and communicating with faculty in every college to solicit manuscripts.


Late spring semester is a busy time for scholarship awards. I know departments have been hard at work making their scholarship decisions for the next academic year. Our CoLA Scholarship Committee met several times this term and reviewed hundreds of scholarship applicants for a variety of college-level and university-level awards.  As a result of this hard work, 62 outstanding CoLA students will receive over $85,000 in scholarship aid next year!  Congratulations to all of these students and in particular to those who received the highly-competitive university scholarships:  Serenity Amber McKenzie, Motion Pictures, Studio Art: Harley Flack Memorial Scholarship; Elizabeth Mae Schoppelrei, Spanish, German, English, and Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies:  Harry P. Jeffrey Scholarship; Ronald Lukas Wenrick, Social Science Education, History: Robert Oelman Scholarship; Khadija Alice Kirksey, International Studies, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, and French: Sarah E. Harris Scholarship.  A big Thank-You to committee chair La Fleur Small, Sociology, and committee members Jackson Leung, Music, Carol Mejia LaPerle, English, and Jennie Buckwalter, Dean's Office, for their hard work and passion in supporting our students.


The CoLA Dean's Leadership Board also provided crucial financial support to fund Leadership and Study Abroad Scholarships for CoLA students, with matching support from the Dean's Fund.  Some members of the board served on sub-committees to select the recipients for these awards as well as for a few additional important scholarships. Ultimately these committees awarded $38,000 to 20 students! Thank you to all the dedicated people who serve on this important board: Kathy Arquilla '73, Greg Brush '85, Naomi Ewald-Orme '90, Gary Gall '74, Kathy Hinders '97, Ildiko Marcus '79, Wendy Merkert '00 /'06, Mark Owens '78, Colleen Ryan, and Judy Thompson '99.


The University Honors Program held its Spring Graduation Ceremony yesterday and Heidi Wendt, Religion, was acknowledged as the 2015 Honors Teacher of the Year.  Congratulations Heidi!  We also celebrated students who are graduating with a University Honors Program designation.  We want to congratulate these students recognized in the College of Liberal Arts:    

Today we will celebrate other amazing students in the college at our Outstanding Student Awards Ceremony in the Creative Arts Center's Schuster Hall at 2:00 p.m.  I hope to see many of you there.


On behalf of CoLA and Wright State University, I want to thank the following retiring faculty and staff for their many years of excellent service:


D.  Bartlett Blair, Theatre, Dance, & Motion Pictures

Rich Bullock, English

Sandra Crews, Theatre, Dance, & Motion Pictures

Jack Dustin, Urban Affairs & Geography

Matt Filipic, Political Science

Renee Harber, Political Science 

Jeff John, Communication

David Orenstein, Sociology & Anthropology

Robert Riordan, Sociology & Anthropology

Donna Schlagheck, Political Science

They will be missed, and we wish them fun and joy in retirement!


And don't forget our CoLA Retreat on Wednesday, August 26, 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m., Mathile Theatre, Schuster Center, Downtown Dayton. We will take a backstage tour, discuss important college and university topics, have a catered lunch, and celebrate our CoLA Outstanding Award recipients. Please RSVP to Sue Stollings if you can make it. More information will follow in a separate email.


This will be the last CoLA Weekly until fall semester begins.  You can see all past CoLA Weekly messages online.


Have a wonderful summer! 

KSO signature
Kristin Sobolik