biplane logo                                                               



                                                              College of Liberal Arts 

CoLA Color



Friday, April 11, 2014 


The Awards keep coming in!  I love this time of the year!


Please join me in congratulating the following faculty on their promotion to Senior Lecturer:

            Dorothy Alvarez, Modern Languages

            Jennifer Buckwalter, Modern Languages

            Michelle Cipriano, Modern Languages

            Byron Crews, English Language and Literatures

            Michelle Metzner, English Language and Literatures


Congratulations also to Julianne Weinzimmer, Sociology, for receiving the Faculty Diversity Advocate Award from the Office of Multicultural Affairs and Community Engagement.  Julianne received the award mainly for creating and incorporating a version of the Dayton Dialogue on Race Relations into her Sociology of Race and Ethnicity course that gives students the opportunity to talk about race and ethnicity in very real and personal ways within small groups facilitated by trained leaders.  Quanita McRoberts, Liberal Studies, received the MLK Jr. Distinguished Service Award for an undergraduate student in the same ceremony.


35 Years in a Row!  It doesn't get much better than that!  Congratulations to our Model United Nations Team for earning OUTSTANDING DELEGATION and other numerous awards at the recent 2014 MUN Conference in NYC that was attended by over 2,500 students representing 25 countries. The MUN TEAM is made up of 23 students from the colleges of Liberal Arts, Education and Human Services, Business, Engineering and Computer Science, and Science and Mathematics.  It is truly a campus team!  The Team sat on 12 committees, representing Canada.


Congratulations especially to MUN Faculty Advisors Donna Schlagheck, Political Science, and Vaughn Shannon, Political Science, for guiding the team yet again to great success.  President David and Angelia Hopkins accompanied the team on their trip and have high accolades for how impressive our students were and how well they represent Wright State.  President Hopkins was so moved that he presented Donna Schlagheck with his coveted 'Tip of the Hat'.  This is only the 6th time that he has provided this acknowledgment since he started the tradition last fall.  Congratulations Donna!  We will cover more about the team in our upcoming CoLA Newsletter.



Model UN Team 2014 

Eric Allen
Caitlyn Banis
Joshua Cummins
Stephanie Dagher
Kuyer Fazekas
Mike Gross
Ethan Hall
Samantha Hall
Caroline Hoffman
Andrea Jacoby
Jessica Loving
Angelica Loyd
Jonathan Maze
Matthew Piekenbrock
Brianna Rosewater
Cody Smith
Julia Stidham
Hanna Tarbert
Garrett Teets
Mamata Venkat
Suzanne Webb
Brandon Whitehorn
Bradley Wilson

Donna Schlagheck
Vaughn Shannon



Congratulations also to David Booth, Music, for becoming a member of the American Bandmasters Association (ABA), an elite and exclusive association of highly accomplished and nationally recognized authorities and leaders in the band conducting and music profession.  Membership is by invitation only, and is considered to be a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of a career that consistently evinces significant accomplishments of the highest order.  There are only 300 members of this prestigious group.  As you will remember, David directed the Wright State Wind Symphony last year at Carnegie Hall.  What a great honor for David and for Wright State!


This week's events include today's Creative Arts Center Groundbreaking at 2:30 in front of the CAC followed by a reception including food, drinks, and entertainment in White Hall The Department of Communication hosts its 6th Annual Awards Ceremony on Saturday to honor top students and scholarship recipients.  And ARTSGALA is this Saturday starting at 6:30 in the CAC.  If you didn't get a chance to see the highly acclaimed Les Misrables, then check out the CAC Groundbreaking or ARTSGALA to get a taste.
KSO signature
Kristin Sobolik
Dean                                                                                                                           Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

  163 Millett Hall - 3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy - Dayton, OH 45435 - 937-775-2225 - fax: 937-775-2181