biplane logo                                                               



                                                              College of Liberal Arts 

CoLA Color


Friday, December 13, 2013 


Well, we made it!  Another semester under our belts with over 1700 students set to graduate at Saturday's commencement ceremony.  As I have more chance to interact with our students, I have become increasingly impressed with their drive, dedication, and sheer hunger for the opportunities that we provide for them here at Wright State.  Thank you all for everything you do for our students, the future of this country!


Some of our great students can be found on the Dean's Student Advisory Board.  What a dedicated group! They are so dedicated that we meet at 8 a.m. on Tuesdays to discuss visionary projects for CoLA and Wright State.  Some of the ideas they have been developing include Nexus, an online literary student portfolio, language tables and linking up with language clubs, and increasing student internship opportunities.  I love meeting with this energetic group that seems to be satisfied with Bill's Donuts and hot, black coffee.  Thank you, DSAB, for your great ideas and dedication to Wright State! 


Members of theDean's Student Advisory Board include: Spencer Brannon, President (not available for photo), Julia Stidham, Vice President, Emily Bingham, Elizabeth Davis, Tiffany Fridley (not available for photo), Phillip Logan, Brandon North, Cedric Ntwali, Amanda Phillips, Kyle Powell, Ryan Rushing (not available for photo), Nikeya Sharp, Hilary Swinning, and Brandon Whitehorn






My family and I visited ArtsFair this past Saturday and got to see more of our talented students helping younger kids dance, sing, play an instrument, draw on the walls, eat more donuts, romp with Rowdy the Raider, get their face painted, and generally have a fantastic time!  ArtsFair was a HUGE success with over 120 participants.  This is another example of our great community outreach.  And I tell you, it was awesome seeing Rowdy on the floor crawling around with the kids!  Great Job to all!!



A new CoLA tradition isBalloon Bouquets for groups who exhibit excellent collaboration.  This past year three groups received the coveted (well, maybe that is too strong of a word) Collaboration Balloons.  Political Science received the first bouquet for their fantastic collaborative book on Political Corruption in which many members of the department were authors including editor Charles Funderburk.  The other two bouquets were received by the departments of Music and English for their central roles in CELIA's bicentennial celebration of the publication of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice and ALL the varied events surrounding that feast of activities (my feet have still not recovered).  Congratulations Collaborators!  I hope to send out more balloon bouquets next year.  Let the competition begin!  


SAVE THE DATE for the First Annual CoLA Author's Reception to be held on Monday, January 27, 4:00-5:30 p.m. in the Robert and Elaine Stein Galleries in the CAC.  We will celebrate all the authors and books published in 2013, and there are over 12 books I have counted so far.  Picture dainty snacks, wine, discussion, and author's words of wisdom.  A more formal invite will be coming, but please plan on joining us as we celebrate scholarship in the college.


I wish you all Happy Holidays and a very relaxing break!

KSO signature   

Kristin Sobolik 

Dean                                                                                                                           Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

  163 Millett Hall - 3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy - Dayton, OH 45435 - 937-775-2225 - fax: 937-775-2181