February 14, Vol. 23, No. 29

CMU Welcomes President-Elect Feb. 21  

The university community is invited to welcome President-elect Subra Suresh, his wife, Mary, and their daughters Meera and Nina into the Carnegie Mellon family at 5 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 21 in McConomy Auditorium on the Pittsburgh campus. A reception in Rangos Ballroom will follow the program.

Seating is limited in McConomy Auditorium and is available on a first-come, first-served basis.  

Suresh, director of the National Science Foundation and former dean of the School of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was named Carnegie Mellon's president-elect Feb. 5. He will succeed Jared L. Cohon as CMU's ninth president on July 1.

Read more about the Welcome Event.Read more about Subra Suresh.

Larry Biegler, Jose Moura Elected to National Academy of Engineering  

Carnegie Mellon's Lorenz (Larry) T. Biegler and Jose M. F. Moura (far right) have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), one of the highest professional honors an engineer can achieve. Membership in the NAE honors people who have made important contributions to engineering theory and practice, and who have demonstrated unusual accomplishments in pioneering new and developing fields of technology.

Biegler, a University Professor and the Bayer Professor of Chemical Engineering, was elected to the academy for contributions in large-scale nonlinear optimization theory and algorithms for application to process optimization, design and control.

Moura, director of the Carnegie Mellon/Portugal program and a University Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Biomedical Engineering, was elected to the academy for contributions to the theory and practice of statistical signal processing.

In addition to Biegler and Moura, four alumni also were elected to the NAE. They are Donna G. Blackmond (E'84), Craig T. Bowman (E'61), David Dill (S'83,'87) and Pradeep Sindhu (S'83,'84).  Forty-eight individuals with CMU ties have been elected to the NAE.

Read the full announcement. | See the list of CMU's NAE members.

CMU Humanities Celebration Tomorrow   

To celebrate CMU's excellence in the humanities, the Dietrich College and the Center for the Arts in Society will host a program and reception beginning at 4:30 p.m., tomorrow, Friday, Feb. 15 in the Giant Eagle Auditorium in Baker Hall. The program will feature:

  • Remarks by Dean John Lehoczky;
  • A keynote address by Michael Witmore, director of the Folger Shakespeare Library, on "What is Access: Perspectives on the Archive";  
  • Poster presentations by humanities students.   
Read more about the celebration.  

Alumnus Endows Chair at Tepper School    

Tepper School Andris Zoltners, who earned his Ph.D. in 1973 at Carnegie Mellon's Graduate School of Industrial Administration, now the Tepper School of Business, has endowed a professorship at the school to support teaching and research in the field of operations research.

The Andris A. Zoltners Professorship of Business, made possible by a $2.5 million gift to the Tepper School, will be held by Professor R. Ravi, who is highly respected for his research in optimization problems. Formerly the Carnegie Bosch Professor of Operations Research and Computer Science, Ravi has been a CMU faculty member since 1995. 

Zoltners is founder and co-chairman of ZS Associates, a global sales and marketing consulting firm recognized for its work in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries. Zoltners also is the Frederic Esser Nemmers Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Marketing at the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, where he has been a faculty member for more than 30 years.

Read the full story.

Astrophysicists Named to NASA Team     

NASA has named Carnegie Mellon astrophysicists Shirley Ho and Rachel Mandelbaum (far right) to a 40-member U.S. science team that will participate in a European Space Agency mission investigating the greatest mysteries of the universe - dark matter and dark energy. The team will conduct research using data gathered by Euclid, a space-based telescope scheduled to launch in 2020.

Euclid's telescope and instruments will gather information from approximately two billion galaxies contained in one-third of the sky. Researchers will use the data to measure weak gravitational lensing, baryon acoustic oscillations and redshift space distortions, which will allow them to analyze the effects of dark matter and dark energy.

Ho and Mandelbaum are assistant professors of physics and members of CMU's Bruce and Astrid McWilliams Center for Cosmology.

Read the full story.

Help ensure the safety and well-being of the CMU community:
University Police: 412-268-2323
Ethics Hotline: 1-877-700-7050

Calendar Highlights 

 Personal Mention

Jared L. Cohon
Jendayi Frazer
Alberto Almarza
Timothy X. Brown
Joyce Moore
Dan Barnett
News Briefs
Submit News
EmailBruce Gerson orHeidi Opdyke

Follow Us on