Arts|Learning BannerNews from
In This Issue
What is KCAAEN?
Our Sponsors
Article Headline
Article Headline
Article Headline
Quick Links
Join Our Mailing List
Arts|Learning is a member of the Kennedy Center Alliance for Arts Education Network
--a consortium of 35 state alliances across the United States dedicated to arts advocacy and quality arts education for the nation's children.
Thanks to Our Amazing Supporters!
AL Logo


Please note that the May 22 Arts|Learning Symposium, "Igniting Innovation... Creative Leadership & High Impact Practices," now includes some special pricing.
  • Groups of three or more administrators from the same school or district can attend at a special registration fee 30% less than single registrations.   
  • Special student rate is now available!
Arts teachers and fine arts coordinators are urged to bring your building principals to this important conversation that includes a specific focus on the importance of school leaders in developing innovation and creativity, the impact of arts on academic achievement, and issues surrounding assessment and teacher evaluation.  This is the one conference you don't want to miss this year!

To register click here!
AL Logo



Co-Sponsored by the Creativity Commons at Lesley University
University Hall
1815 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02140-1430


Keynote Speaker: 
"Creating Innovators," Dr. Tony Wagner, Harvard University
Featured Guests: 
Una McAlinden, Director, ArtsEd Washington
Roger Brown, President, Berklee College of Music
Dr. Carol Johnson, Superintendent, Boston Public Schools

Dr. Steve Seidel, Harvard University


Arts|Learning's annual spring symposium, co-Sponsored by the Creativity Commons at Lesley University, convenes top educators and policy makers in significant arts education topics and research, and will recognize 18 distinguished recipients in a public advocacy awards ceremony.   


This year's event will located at Lesley University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, on May 22, 2013.  The day will begin with an 8-hour Symposium for school leaders (principals, curriculum directors, arts coordinators, arts educators) in the areas of school leadership and the arts and teacher evaluation.  Award presentations will occur in the evening following a wine and cheese reception in honor of our awardees and the symposium presenters.


Cost to attend ranges from $20 to $135, depending upon enrollment in the full symposium or only the awards evening events.


For a full schedule of the day's events, please click here.


Keynote Speaker Spotlight!
Tony Wagner 

Tony Wagner recently accepted a position as the first Innovation Education Fellow at the Technology & Entrepreneurship Center at Harvard.  Prior to this, he was the founder and co-director of the Change Leadership Group at the Harvard Graduate School of Education for more than a decade. Tony consults widely to schools, districts, and foundations around the country and internationally.  His previous work experience includes twelve years as a high school teacher, K-8 principal, university professor in teacher education, and founding executive director of Educators for Social Responsibility.


Tony is also a frequent speaker at national and international conferences and a widely published author.  His work includes numerous articles and five books. Tony's latest, Creating Innovators: The Making of Young People Who Will Change The World, has just been published by Simon & Schuster to rave reviews and will soon be available in Spanish and Chinese translations. His 2008 book, The Global Achievement Gap has been an international best seller and has also been translated into Chinese. Tony has also recently collaborated with noted filmmaker Robert Compton to create a 60 minute documentary, "The Finland Phenomenon: Inside The World's Most Surprising School System."


Tony earned an M.A.T. and an Ed.D. at the Harvard University Graduate School of Education.

Congratulations To Our 2013 Advocacy Award Winners To Be Honored May 22!
Aaron Dworkin 

The Eric Oddleifson Arts|Learning Service Award

Aaron Dworkin. Founder and President of the Sphinx Organization and accomplished electric and acoustic violinist.  Mr. Dworkin is pictured at the right.


Legislative Awards

Irene Buck Service to Arts Education Award

  • Honee Hess, former Education Director, Worcester Art Museum, and current Executive Director of the WORCESTER CENTER FOR CRAFTS

Media Support for Arts Education

  • Andrea Shea, WBUR Radio Arts Reporter 

Excellence in School Administration

  • Robert Tremblay, Superintendent of Schools, Milford, MA (Kathy Tosolini Award)
  • Patricia Lampron, Principal, Henderson School, Boston
  • Steven Bliss, Assistant Superintendent (assumes Superintendency in July 2013), Dover-Sherborn Regional Public School

Distinguished Community Arts Collaborative

  • Worcester Juvenile Courts / Worcester Art Museum - Visual Arts
  • Boston City Singers - Music
  • Adult and Community Education of Martha's Vineyard (ACE MV) - Multi-Disciplinary - Institutional Award
  • The Marble Collection - Multi-Disciplinary - Individual award to Deanna Elliot, Executive Director 

Distinguished Arts Educator Advocate Awards

  • Wendy Silverberg, Boston city Singers - Dennis Wrenn Music Award
  • Coni More, President, MA Art Educators Assn - Visual Arts
  • Doris Shallcross - Creativity

Student Advocate

  • Jared Newman, The Marble Collection Student Advisory Board Member; editor of Andover's literary magazine, Courant

Good Neighbor Award

  • Families Creating Together, Jamaica Plain

Outstanding Parent Advocate

  • Ginny Brennan, Boston Arts Academy Family Council