Community Connection

Girl Scouts of Southwest Texas' Annual Council Meeting, held on Saturday, March 2 at the West Side Girl Scout Leadership Center, provided reports of the 2012 year, including everything GSSWT did during the 100th anniversary, and ushered in newly elected board officers, members-at-large, girl board members and board development committee members.



Jackie L. Gorman Jackie L. Gorman, Board Chair

Jackie is the Executive Director for SAGE (San Antonio for Growth on the Eastside), a nonprofit that serves as the growth engine for San Antonio's Eastside. Read more ...  



Danielle Gutierrez


Danielle Gutierrez, Girl Board Chair

Danielle has been in Girl Scouts for 10 years and is a Girl Scout Ambassador and ex officio girl board member. She has earned the Girl Scout Bronze and Silver awards, Presidential Gold Award, and is currently working toward her Girl Scout Gold Award project, Cyber-Bullying Stops with MeRead more ... 


Jennifer Moriarty, 1st Vice Chair Jennifer Moriarty

Jennifer is the Vice President for Community Development at Wells Fargo Bank. Her responsibilities include managing Wells Fargo Bank's commitment to the Community Reinvestment Act by ensuring that the bank's products and services address the needs of diverse communities. Read more ...   




Luis de la GarzaLuis de la Garza, 2nd Vice Chair

Luis is president and CEO of Texen Power Company, LLC. He is an attorney with 15 years experience in corporate and private practice and 23 years as a corporate executive with Valero Energy Corporation, PG&E Gas Transmission Company, Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Texas, and Texen Power Company. Read more ...   



Terri Benoit
Jelynne LeBlanc Burley
Cece Cheever*
Heather Davis
Leah DeLaGarza*
(*second term)
Dr. Arcelia Johnson-Fannin
Kathleen Krueger*
Carla Mancha*
Russell Warren
Teri Wenglein


Board Development Committee

Heather Davis
Leah DeLaGarza
Angelica Docog
Ray Flores
Victoria Garcia
Janet Putman


Ex Officio Girl Board Members

Madison Albrecht
Rachel Broderick
Yanitza Costilla
Emily Demmer
Emily Omeis
Hannah Richmond


Congratulations to our newly elected members! View a complete list of GSSWT's leadership here.


View the Annual Report and the photo gallery here.




At the annual Adult Volunteer Recognition Awards Ceremony, also held on Saturday, March 2, GSSWT awarded nine local volunteers with the Thanks Badge.


The prestigious national award is given to a select number of volunteers each year to recognize outstanding service that benefits the entire Girl Scout Movement. These volunteers have devoted decades of service to the organization, their contributions collectively furthering the mission of building girls of courage, confidence and character, who make the world a better place.


Jan DeHaven

Jan DeHaven

Jan has been a member of the Girl Scout Interfaith Committee for several years and worked closely with girl members to create two council patch curriculums, Religions Around the World and Peace Pole Patch Program. She is active in the council's governance structure and attended the 2011 National Council Session and Convention in Houston. View her tribute video here.


Ray Flores

Ramon "Ray" Flores

Ray supported GSSWT's presence on San Antonio's west side during its time at Avenida Guadalupe. Through his shared vision, Ray brought community support to an underserviced area and gave families the necessary tools to become advocates for their children and community for years to come. The direct result of Flores' involvement and advocacy was the realization of the new West Side Girl Scout Leadership Center at Coronado/Escobar. View his tribute video here.


Jackie L. Gorman

Jackie L. Gorman

Jackie provided service on GSSWT's Board of Directors in multiple capacities, most recently serving as the lead volunteer in the position of board chair. Jackie was innovative in increasing girls' opportunities for leadership by creating the girl board chair position. She served on the Trefoil Luncheon Committee, helping raise the most money in the council's history and is a member of the GSSWT's African-American Advisory Committee. View her tribute video here.


Jan King Jan King

Jan served on GSSWT's Board of Directors for the past three years. She was essential to the strategic planning process for the council. Her leadership and commitment was very evident as she steered GSSWT through two intricate tasks that were filled with emotion and steeped in tradition. View her tribute video here.


Janell Neal

Janell Neal

Janell facilitated the creation, negotiation and sale of the council's first-ever Fiesta medal and a 100th anniversary commemorative poster created by Shelley Fluke. She was persistent when inquiring about pricing and ensuring great quality for items sold at 100th anniversary events. View her tribute video here.


Susan Snow

Susan Snow

Susan served as point of contact for the San Antonio Park Missions Archeology Day, ensuring Girl Scouts could participate and worked to incorporate the Girl Scout brand in the passport and volunteer T-shirt. View her tribute video here.


Laura Surovic

Laura Surovic

Laura served as the chair of the Catholic Committee and was an active member of the Interfaith Committee. She also serves on the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry for Region 10 as the Girl Scout representative for Arkansas, Oklahoma and Texas. View her tribute video here.


Lisa Uribe

Dr. Lisa A. Uribe

Lisa served as the volunteer champion on the 100th Anniversary Advocacy Subcommittee, chaired the Strategic Learning Committee and was a GSSWT board member. She led an oversight committee and had a key role in renewing the council's charter with the national organization. View her tribute video here.


Risa Weinberger

Risa Weinberger

Risa served as co-chair to the Interfaith Committee and as chair of the Girl Scout Jewish Faith Subcommittee. She was instrumental in the wildly successful program "Cake Boss," with proceeds benefiting the Juliette Low World Friendship Fund. View her tribute video here.




GSSWT presented more than 80 awards to adult volunteers at the ceremony. A sincere thank you and congratulations to all Girl Scout volunteers for serving as the "leaders behind the leaders" and guiding countless girls on their leadership journey. View the program booklet and the photo gallery here.


On the Green ToGetHerThere