The Legislative and Political Newsletter of the 
MN Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers Association

January 18, 2016
Quick Links
Thank You to Our Diamond Partners

Austin Mutual Logo

EMC Logo

Follow Us
Rothman Named to National Insurance Board 

The White House has announced its intent to nominate Minnesota Commerce Commissioner, Mike Rothman, to the new NARAB board of directors.  After nearly 15 years of efforts to streamlining multiple state producer licensing, Congress enacted the National Association of Registered Agents and Brokers Reform Act of 2015. 

The act which was strongly supported by our national association as well as other agent organizations established this board.  Rothman will be one of 8 state commissioners who will serve on the Board.  Five industry representatives will be appointed shortly.    

Dominic Sposeto
MIIAB Lobbyist

- - - - - - Minnesota Department of Commerce News Release - - - - - -

White House to Nominate Minnesota Commerce Commissioner for National Insurance Board

President Obama has announced his intent to nominate Minnesota Commerce Commissioner Mike Rothman to serve on the Board of Directors for the newly-created National Association of Registered Agents and Brokers (NARAB), which will create a one-stop licensing process for insurance agents and brokers who seek to do business in multiple states.
Currently, agents and brokers who operate in more than one state must complete separate applications, pay multiple licensing fees and meet different continuing education requirements in each state where they want to do business.

NARAB will oversee a standardized licensing platform to help insurance agents and brokers do business beyond their home states. While NARAB will implement national standards for nonresident licensing, agents and brokers will still be responsible for resident licensure under their home state's insurance regulations.

Appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the U.S. Senate, the NARAB Board will consist of 13 members, including eight state insurance commissioners and five insurance industry representatives.
Rothman has served as Minnesota Commerce Commissioner since January 2011, with jurisdiction over more than 20 regulated industries, including insurance. He is an active leader in the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 

Thank You for Helping MIIAB Reach Our 
$26,000 InsurPac Goal

With the leadership of Roberta Gibbons; MIIAB once again reached our InsurPac goal of $26,000. This allowed IIABA to retain their $1,000,000 PAC Status.

Thank you to all the donors listed below for your generous support.

Agather, Marty
Aljadah, Carole
Anderson, Wade
Bacciocco, Charles
Banfield, Fritz
Bjugan, Chad
Bjugan, Marvin
Blakestad, Jerod
Bowe, Kelly
Bradow, Richard
Brustad, Lawrence
Bucheger, Sandra
Clysdale, Matthew
Corradi, Margaret
Donohoe, Michael
Dressel, Roger
Dyste, Ted
Essig, Merlin
Flavin, Shawn
Gibbons, Roberta
Goeman, William
Hanley, Ryan
Hansen, Travis
Hawkinson, Karen
Hoschette, David
Hunt, Darian
Hyde, Derek
Johnson, Michael
Knakmuhs, Kerry
Larson, Jamie
Larson, Jay
Leonard, Tim
Luoma, Ashley
Lynch, Matt
Maas, Jeffrey
Manke, James
McKenny, Matthew
McKenny, Richard
Michaletz, Scott
Micke, Steven
Moores, Mark
Moy, Donald
Nesbit, Ross
Noah, Lawrence
Ohl, Walter
Ostermann, Chad
Pecka, Daniel
Peterson, Owen
Plombon, J. Ted
Prigge, Vance
Quiring, Julie
Rendall, John
Riley, Daniel
Rodger, Darlene
Rongstad, Eric
Savarese, Vincent
Sogn, Bruce
Solum, Scott
Stein, James
Strande, James
Strehlow, Norman
Swanson, Steve
Szczepanski, David
Thompson, Gloria
Tiffany, Eric
Tiffany, Hal
Tilleraas, David
Van Baak, Dorothy
Voxland, Theresa
Wensel, Shawn
Whitcomb, Frank
Wojtysiak, Scott
Wojtysiak, Val
Wunderlich, Robert