November 2015
Recap on a Succesful 2015 National Aviation Conference And Tradeshow
ATAC's 2015 National Aviation Conference and Tradeshow was a vibrant success. The 500 delegates were very pleased with the quality of workshops, and with keynote speakers including Angus Watt from CATSA and Tony Tyler from IATA. The overall atmosphere was upbeat and the not-soon-to-be-forgotten Gala Dinner entertainment was beyond description. Many commented that this was our best conference ever. Such words are certainly appreciated by the ATAC team that works relentlessly to put together this annual event.
The National Aviation Conference included our Annual Meeting where the Chair Tracy Medve, the Honorary Treasurer Joe Sparling and the President John McKenna all gave their annual reports. Board elections are also held during the meeting. Members are asked to vote on a slate of directors either seeking election or re-election to the Board. This year, the slate of nominees selected by the different member categories had a total of six candidates for election to the Board.
ATAC National Aviation Conference Surveys - Chance To Win 100$

Dear Attendees and Exhibitors,

We would like to thank you for attending the 81st National Aviation Conference and Tradeshow in Montreal. ATAC's annual conference is a flagship event to help our members in their commitment to a safe, world-leading and sustainable Canadian air transport industry. Your feedback is extremely valuable to help us continually improve our events. We would be grateful if you could complete the evaluation forms by December 4th. Once fully completed and submitted, you will be automatically entered in a draw for a 100$ pre-paid credit card.

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS the 81st National Aviation Conference SURVEY 
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS the Tradeshow Evaluation SURVEY 
Information on where to submit the form is found on the survey.

Thank you in advance for your time and cooperation.
Heather McGonigal,
ATAC Chair of the Board

Presenting ATAC's New Chair, Heather McGonigal

The ATAC Board has appointed Heather McGonigal as Chair of the Board for 2015-2016. Heather McGonigal has been the Director of Flight Operations at Transwest Air since December 2006, overseeing their CAR 702-705 operations.  In this position, she is responsible for overall safety, for maintaining control of operations, and for setting and maintaining operational standards for flight crews and all aircraft operated.  

Heather McGonigal's Bio
Press Release For The 2015 David Charles Abramson Memorial (DCAM) Flight Instructor Safety Award

The prestigious 2015 DCAM Flight Instructor Safety Award was presented by founders Jane & Rikki Abramson, to Catherine Press, of Chinook Helicopters, British Columbia, at the ATAC National Aviation Conference and Tradeshow in Montreal.
Catherine holds both fixed wing and helicopter licences; was the first woman in canada to hold a helicopter instructor rating and is the only canadian helicopter pilot to hold a chinese licence. 
Her contributions to aviation over the years, especially in the helicopter training sector, have been significant.
It is felt by many that the good safety record in commercial helicopter operations throughout western Canada is in many ways attributable to the high quality of training offered by her company "Chinook Helicopters", which is one of Canada's leading helicopter training organizations.
An 'honourable' mention was given to Adam Penner of Harv's Air, Manitoba; 'special recognition' to Andrew Simpson, Ottawa Flying Club, Ontario and also to Kyle Green, Waterloo Wellington Flight Centre, Ontario; and Jessica Traynor, of Sault College, Ontario received an SMS workshop sponsored by ATAC.
Seneca College Aviation Studying "How Flight Simulation Training Devices Are Used" by Industry - Feedback needed

Seneca College Aviation's Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) Funded Research Program is currently conducting a study to investigate common practices in the application of Flight Simulation Training Devices (FSTDs). The results of this study will be of benefit to instructors and/or organizations that are currently using or are planning to use FSTDs in pilot training.
This confidential survey takes 20 minutes to complete; participants qualify for a draw for a $100 Amazon gift card and a copy of the "Use of Flight Simulation Training Device" study report.
To complete the survey please go to this link or contact
Please note that the survey closes on December 21, 2015.
On behalf of the Applied Research program we thank you in advance for your participation and your valued contribution to applied research in the aviation training field.
Webster Award 2015 - Hosted by Pacific Flying Club (PFC) Delta BC

The Webster award this year was hosted by PFC during their 50th anniversary celebration at their facility located at the Boundary Bay Airport, Delta, BC. "Keep us in mind for our 75th" Pat Kennedy CEO of PFC offered to the Webster organizers, Wayne and Amy Foy. 
So, Who Won?  The entire Webster team is pleased to announce that the 2015 Webster Memorial Trophy winner is Zhaoyang David Shi, Atlantic Region and flying out of the Moncton Flight College, Moncton, NB. The 2015 Webster runner-up is Jack Bradshaw, Central Ontario Region and flying with the Brampton Flight Centre (BFC), Brampton, ON.  The winner this year of the NAV CANADA Trophy for achieving the highest mark on the NAV CANADA exam is Gabriel Kim, Eastern Ontario Region and training with Seneca College in Peterborough, ON.

2016 Hosts:
  The 2016 Webster competition will be hosted by the Brampton Flight Centre and will celebrate the change of administration from Wayne and Amy Foy to Brenda Reid.

Air Transport Association of Canada

Association du transport aérien du Canada
700 - 255 rue Albert Street | Ottawa, Ontario K1P 6A9 |Canada

Air Transport Association of Canada | 700 - 255 Albert Street | Ottawa | Ontario | K1P 6A9 | Canada