Vol. # 2103-12-E
December 11, 2013

NEW ATAC Board of directors 

The new ATAC Board of Directors for 2013-2014 consists of 26 members. See Board of Directors page for details.

ATAC 79th AGM And tradeshow
was a success

ATAC is pleased to report a very successful AGM and Tradeshow in Montreal with over 450 delegates in attendance. We would like to extend a special thanks to all our Members, Sponsors and Exhibitors whose participation contributed greatly to the success of our conference.


The Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Transport, was our luncheon keynote speaker. Also well attended was the session with Transport Canada's Director General, Civil Aviation, Martin Eley.


Mark your calendar now for next year

ATAC Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow

Monday, Nov. 17 - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014

Westin Bayshore Hotel, Vancouver



All available presentations are posted to the "Members Only" section of the website. To access it, you must be a member and have a valid log-in and password. If you experience any difficulties with your member login, please contact dlavoie@atac.ca.



We would like to congratulate the winners of the following prizes:

  • Sunwing Vacation: Quentin Smith, Pacific Coastal Airlines
  • Hamilton Watch (men): Charles Shaw, Ottawa Flying Club
  • Hamilton Watch (women): Elaine Fenner, Seneca College


Congratulations to the following award winners:


ATAC Honoree Award - The 2013 recipient is Robert Deluce of Porter Airlines. This is the Association's highest achievement awarded to individuals who during their lifetime have contributed significantly to the improvement of the Association and the Canadian air transport industry as a whole.


The Jim Glass Humanitarian Award - This is the very first time this award is given. This award will be given every second year to a member of the Canadian aviation community who has demonstrated selfless generosity, compassion, business acumen and who best exemplify Jim's values through community involvement. The 2013 recipients are Harvey and Cliff Friesen of Bearskin Airlines.


The David Charles Abramson Memorial Flight Instructor Safety Award - The 2013 recipient is Chris Walsh of Moncton Flight College. This award is presented annually to the top flight instructor.


Webster Memorial Trophy Award - Top Amateur Pilot of the Year - The 2013 recipient is Takashi Hirose of Ottawa Flying Club/Algonquin College and the runner-up is Stuart Loney of Brampton Flight Centre. The Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is an annual event intended to declare the "top amateur pilot in Canada".


Hope Air Outstanding Philanthropist Award - The award went to Pacific Coastal Airlines. This award recognizes philanthropic leadership by an ATAC member who has shown dedication to Hope Air's mission of removing the barriers of distance and cost that separate Canadians from the specialized healthcare they require.



Some AGM pictures are available for viewing on My Album.  If you are aware of pictures not posted that you would like to have for yourself, please contact us and we will do our best to get them to you.

ATAC Welcomes New Members
- Air1 Insurance Services - Pitt Meadows, BC
- Calgary Flying Club - Calgary, AB
- EDG Consulting - Fergus, ON
- Orizon Aviation Québec  - Quebec City, QC
- Premier Aviation Overhaul Center - Trois-Rivières, QC
- Technical Aero, LLC - Sammamish, WA
- Transglobal Travel and Tours - Mississauga, ON

- Acorn Welding

- AJW Technique

- Algonquin College
  Corporate Training

- Alsim Simulators

- Aon Hewitt / Sun Life

- Apron Fuel Services

- Aviall (Canada)

- Avianor 

- Aviation Unlimited

- Avjet Holding

- Avro Strategies

- AJW Technique 

- Bombardier Commercial

- Bose

- Canadian Aviator

- Canadian Council for
   Aviation and Aerospace

- Canadian Skies

- Cessna Aircraft Company 

- CQFA - Chicoutimi

- Crestwood Technology

- Cryotech Deicing

- D.H. Kay Sales  

- David Charles Ambramson

- Discovery Air Technical

- Environment Canada

- Falko Regional Aircraft

- Fast Air Executive Aviation

- FlightSafety International

- Frasca International

- Hope Air

- IDS North America

- Intelisys Aviation Systems

- Kelly Aviation Center

- Labelmaster Canada

- Latitude Technologies

- M1 Composites

- Mechtronix


- Nordic Aviation Capital

- Northern Lights Award 

- Ottawa Aviation Services

- Plattsburgh International

- Pratt & Whitney Canada

- Premier Aviation Overhaul

- Primo Instrument

- Seneca College

- Sennheiser Canada

- Skeye Aviation Systems

- Skyservice

- SkyTrac Systems

- Talon Systems, LLC

- Transport Canada

- Tulmar Safety Systems

- Wi-Flight

- Wings Magazine

- Aéroports de Montréal 

- ATR North America

- Boeing Company (The)

- Bombardier Commercial

- CQFA - Chicoutimi College 

- Emond Harnden
- FlightSafety International

- Gowling Lafleur

- Hamilton Watches

- InterVISTAS Consulting


- Porter Airlines

- Pratt & Whitney Canada

- Rapiscan Systems

- Seneca College

- Sunwing Airlines

- Transports Québec

- Wings Magazine

Air Transport Association of Canada
Association du transport aérien du Canada
700 - 255 rue Albert Street | Ottawa, Ontario K1P 6A9 | Canada                                atac.ca