@ ATAC - Newsletter

Air Transport Association of Canada

Volume # 2012-11/12-E 
December 4, 2012

ATAC Annual General Meeting and Tradeshow 

Tuesday, November 13 - Thursday, November 15, 2012

Westin Bayshore Hotel - Vancouver, BC 


"The premier national gathering for operators, suppliers to the industry and government stakeholders involved in commercial aviation and flight training in Canada."


ATAC is pleased to report a very successful AGM and Tradeshow in Vancouver with over 400 delegates in attendance. We would like to extend a special thanks to all our Sponsors and Exhibitors whose participation contributed greatly to the success of our conference.  


Our Plenary Session on November 14 entitled "The Need for a New National Aviation Policy" was very well received. The panelists provided their perspectives on the topic. Their presentations are as follows:

The Luncheon with keynote speaker Tony Gugliotta, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Business Development, Vancouver Airport Authority was also well attended, as well as the session with Transport Canada's Director General Civil Aviation, Martin Eley.


Mark your calendar now for next year's  

ATAC Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow

Sunday, November 17 - Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Montreal, QC



All available presentations are posted to the "Member Login" section of the website. To access it, you must be a member and have a valid log-in and password.



Congratulations to the following award winners:


ATAC Honorary Life Membership Award - The 2012 recipient is Patricia Kennedy from Pacific Flying Club. This is the Association's highest achievement awarded to individuals who during their lifetime have contributed significantly to the improvement of the Association and the Canadian air transport industry as a whole.


The Paul Mulrooney Memorial Award of Excellence - This year's recipient is Chris Walsh from Moncton Flight College. This ATAC award is given annually to an employee of an operator member company who has demonstrated progressive advancement to and within management positions.


The David Charles Abramson Memorial Flight Instructor Safety Award - The 2012 recipient is Paul Harris from Pacific Flying Club. This award is presented annually to the top flight instructor.


Webster Memorial Trophy Award - The 2012 recipient is Andrew Woods from Confederation College and the runner-up is Andrew Burns from Coastal Pacific Aviation. The Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is an annual event intended to declare the "top amateur pilot in Canada".


Hope Air Outstanding Philanthropist Award - The award went to Central Mountain Air. This award is to recognize philanthropic leadership by an ATAC member who has shown dedication to Hope Air's mission of removing the barriers of distance and cost that separate Canadians from the specialized healthcare they require.



Some pictures are available for viewing on Flikr. If you are aware of pictures not posted to the Flikr account that you would like to have for yourself, please contact us and we will do our best to get them to you.



Here is the ATAC Board of Directors for 2012-2013:


Excecutive Committee

Chairman of the Board - Harvey J. Friesen, Bearskin Airlines

President & CEO - John McKenna, ATAC

First Vice-Chair - Tracy Medve, Canadian North

Second Vice-Chair - Jacques Monast, CQFA-Chicoutimi College

Honorary Treasurer - Joseph Sparling, Air North

Honorary Secretary - Barry Lapointe, Kelowna Flightcraft

Past Chair - Mark Williams, Sunwing Airlines



Bob Lamoureux - Alta Flights

Jim Rogers - Flair Airlines

Jacques Prud'Homme - Nolinor Aviation

Joan Williams - Ottawa Aviation Services

Quentin Smith - Pacific Coastal Airlines

D. Bruce MacDougall - Paterson, MacDougall

Robert Deluce - Porter Airlines

Tom Ray - Regina Flying Club

Dennis Cooper - Sky Wings Aviation Academy

Robert Connors - Waterloo Wellington Flight Centre

In This Issue
Report on the 78th ATAC Annual General Meeting and Tradeshow // New Board of Directors


  A special thank you to our Sponsors
ATR North America
 Bearskin Airlines   
Boeing Logo  
 BCIT Logo 
Embraer Logo
Emond Harnden
FlightSafety Logo
Gowlings Logo


Praff & Whitney


Seneca College
  Sunwing Logo
YVR Logo


Wings Magazine 



Follow us on Twitter



ck Links