Volume 6 Issue 5
November 2015

NNHVIP  

Goodbye, NNHVIP E-Bulletin. Hello, Healing Justice Alliance!
This will be the last NNHVIP-branded bulletin you will receive for a while, because there is big news for our network.
 
NNHVIP, in partnership with Cure Violence, Youth ALIVE!, and Berkeley Media Studies Group have begun the Healing Justice Alliance - a collaboration to address violence as a health issue. Healing Justice Alliance received a recent three-year grant from the Office for Victims of Crime to provide training and technical assistance to communities supporting male survivors of violence.
 
You'll receive your first Healing Justice Alliance newsletter in January, and it will contain much of the same great information you've come to expect, and more: research updates, funding opportunities, upcoming trainings and events, best practices in trauma-informed care, and articles highlighting exciting programs and models from around the country. Stay tuned!
 Welcome to Interpersonal Violence Intervention Mentoring, our new member program!     
 
A 2012 pilot program has become -100 clients and three years later - the most recent addition to the National Network. The Interpersonal Violence Intervention Mentoring, in St. Louis, MO was created, Margie Batek, the Supervisor of Violence Intervention Mentoring Program,"...as a result of seeing too many children injured and killed by interpersonal violence."
The program offers a holistic approach with wraparound services to address the myriad of issues, social and others that contribute to the violence. "We measure success by reduced recidivism in the emergency department, improved school performance and reduction of the instances for interpersonal violence," Batek said.
The program brings three years of working with youth involved in violence, and the lessons they have learned about strengths and limitations to their work. "We hope to learn from other programs what they have found successful and what challenges they have encountered," Batek said.
  The 2015 Annual Conference was a Success!
    
 
With almost 200 attendees, this year's conference brought old and new faces together to discuss the work we are doing and the work we hope to do in the future. Discussions from both sides of the bedside - doctors and patients/families, about ways to work with law enforcement, and the things that motivate each of us to continue to do this work.

Highlights include:
  • Pre-conference activities (first time!)
  • World Cafe conversation
  • Father Boyle of Homeboy Industries
  • Mindfulness space
  • Dedicated space for new and emerging programs
  • and much more...

We hope you'll join us next year to continue these important conversations.


 
NNHVIP Research Corner

  • This article examines the link between resources, potentially traumatic experiences and behavioral health in youth receiving government services. The authors argue that a lack of resources can affect coping mechanisms, as well as an individual's ability to heal and recover from a traumatic event. They found that loss of resources and exposure to trauma both increased behavioral health needs.
  • This study analyzes different domains of social support that may be protective/shape post traumatic cognitions. The study found that social support from friends and family were negatively correlated with post traumatic cognitions, and that social support from "a close other" did not have an effect.
  • This article examines the reentry program in Illinois, which provides services to youth and young adults (age 13 to 28) on parole in Chicago to help them transition back to their communities and reduce recidivism. Researchers interviewed 15 of the program's case managers and based on their findings made suggestions for improving the program.
 
  • This review examines trends regarding firearm violence, finding that the overall fatality rate from firearm violence has not changed in more than a decade. Suicide is the most common form of fatal firearm violence, and suicide rates are rising while homicide rates are decreasing. Homicide risk is concentrated among Black males across the lifespan and suicide risk is highest among White males beginning adolescence.

NNHVIP E-Bulletin Contents:
Big Changes Coming
New Member Program
Conference Summary
Research Corner

Join Our Mailing List

 

Marla Becker Scholarship Applications Deadline Approaching!
 
In honor of our Network founder, every year NNHVIP awards a new or emerging program with a scholarship for a 2-day technical assistance visit at a founding member program.

The last day to submit is December 18, 2015.  

NNHVIP in the News

  • Emerging program Kings Against Violence Initiative (KAVI) is showcased for their work in New York.
  • Public health conference in Chicago tackles violence as a contagion.
VOCA Advocacy Webinar

Californians for Safety and Justice is organizing a National Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Advocacy webinar to discuss advocacy opportunities to make sure increased VOCA funding reach communities that need it. Victims of violent crime, young men of color and victims on the margins of society needs often go unmet. This must change!
 
Please register HERE for National Victims of Crime Act Advocacy Project webinar on December 4, 2015 1:00 PM EST.  

Please start registering by entering your name and email address. 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Monthly Working Groups

Interested Network members* can learn and share best practices with national and international colleagues at monthly working group meetings:


Workforce Development
2nd Thursday 9am PST/11am CST/12pm EST

Policy
2nd Thursday 1pm PST/3pm CST/4pm EST

Research and Evaluation
1st Friday 10am PST/12pm CST/1pm EST

Mental Health
1st Wednesday 9am PST/11am CST/12pm EST

For more information contact us.
*Your program must be an NNHVIP member to participate.

Contact Us

Linnea Ashley
NNHVIP Manager
lashley@youthalive.org