Fiction Addiction

1175 Woods Crossing Rd. #5
Greenville, SC 29607
864-675-0540
Fiction Addiction storefront

  

Store Hours:
Mon-Fri: 10am-5:30pm
Sat: 10am-4pm
Sun: Closed

www.fiction-addiction.comMarch 3, 2015

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

CONTACT:
Jill Hendrix
Fiction Addiction
864-675-0540
info@fiction-addiction.com
http://www.fiction-addiction.com

 

Men of the South Meet the Women of Asheville Book Talk & Signing at Fiction Addiction

 

 

Greenville, SC, March 3, 2015 - Join Southern authors Jeffrey Stayton (author of This Side of the River), Michael Buffalo Smith (author of Rebel Yell), and Carl T. Smith (author of the Sam Larkin mystery series, including new book Matthew's Island), as well as Asheville authors Jamie Mason (author of Monday's Lie and Three Graves Full), Megan Shephard (author of The Madman's Daughter YA trilogy, including new book A Cold Legacy), and Katherine Howe (author of the YA novel Conversion) for a book talk, followed by a Q&A and a book signing at Fiction Addiction on Thursday, March 26th, at 6:30pm.

 

Tickets are $10 each for adults. Each ticket can be redeemed toward a purchase of the authors' books prior to or at the event, and includes one admission pass to the event. Children ages 15 and under are free, but please RSVP by emailing info@fiction-addiction.com or calling 864-675-0540. NOTE: If you are ordering your event books at the same time as your ticket, we will deduct the ticket cost before charging your card.

 

Tickets and books can be purchased online, in person at the store, or by calling 864-675-0540.

 

Jeffrey Stayton:
Michael Buffalo Smith:
Carl T. Smith:
This Side of the River
Rebel Yell
Matthew's Island
This Side of the River
Hardcover, $24.95
Rebel Yell
Paperback, $24.00
Matthew's Island
Hardcover, $24.95



Jamie Mason:
Megan Shepherd:
Katherine Howe:
Monday's Lie
A Cold Legacy
Conversion
Monday's Lie
Hardcover, $24.99, on sale 2/3/15
A Cold Legacy
Hardcover, $17.99, on sale 1/27/15
Conversion
Hardcover, $18.99

 

Jeffrey Stayton Jeffrey Stayton's debut historical novel, This Side of the River (Nautilus, hardcover, $24.95), follows a contingent of Confederate war widows who arm themselves and ride north to Ohio to burn General Sherman's home in a story about trauma, revenge, and redemption.

 

Jeffrey grew up throughout Texas and lived in Mississippi before landing in Tennessee, where he's lived with his wife in Memphis for the past four years. He earned his Ph.D. in English from the University of Mississippi and teaches Modernist, Southern, and African-American literature, often teaching women's literature courses as well. He also writes poetry, book reviews, and short stories. When not writing and teaching, he's in his studio working on oil paintings.

 

Michael Buffalo Smith Michael Buffalo Smith's new book, Rebel Yell: An Oral History of Southern Rock (Mercer, paperback, $24.00), presents the story of a musical genre born in the backwoods, highways, and swamps of Macon, Georgia, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 1969 and peaking in popularity during the 1970s.

 

Michael created GRITZ Magazine in 1998 and was editor for thirteen years, during which time he became known as "The Ambassador of Southern Rock." He has written many cover stories, features, and reviews for magazines including Rolling Stone, Goldmine, Hittin' the Note, and Mojo. Smith also writes Southern-based fiction and songs.

 

Carl T. Smith In Matthew's Island (Fresh Mint, hardcover, $24.95), the latest book in Carl T. Smith's Sam Larkin mystery series, a rogue reporter, an unlikely murder, an international search for the prime suspect, and an unknown person from Sam's past with a deadly agenda affect each of the characters in a different way, all culminating in decisions that will have an effect on the rest of their lives.

 

Carl was born in Chicago, IL, but moved south at age two and considers himself a born Southerner. He attended the Richmond Professional Institute of The College of William & Mary, where he earned a BFA in Theatre and English. During this time, one of his best college friends was author Tom Robbins, who stimulated Carl's interest in writing.

 

Jamie Mason From Jamie Mason, the acclaimed author of the "ripping good" (New York Times) debut novel Three Graves Full, comes Monday's Lie (Gallery Books, hardcover, $24.99, on sale 2/3/15), a new thriller about a woman who digs into her unconventional past to confirm what she suspects: her husband isn't what she thought he was.

 

Jamie was born in Oklahoma City, but grew up in Washington, DC. She's most often reading and writing, but in the life left over, she enjoys films, Formula 1 racing, football, traveling, and conversely, staying at home. She lives with her husband and two daughters in the mountains of western North Carolina.

 

Megan Shepherd With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, A Cold Legacy (Balzer + Bray, hardcover, $17.99, on sale 1/27/15), the breathless conclusion to Megan Shepherd's The Madman's Daughter trilogy - perfect for fans of Libba Bray - explores what we'll sacrifice to save those we love... even if it is our own humanity.

 

Megan grew up in her family's independent bookstore in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The travel bug took her from London to Timbuktu and many places in between, though she ended up back in North Carolina with her husband, two cats, and a scruffy dog, and she wouldn't want to live anywhere else. She is also the author of The Madman's Daughter and Her Dark Curiosity.

 

Katherine Howe Inspired by true events - from seventeenth-century colonial life to the halls of a modern-day high school - Conversion (Putnam, hardcover, $18.99) casts a spell. With her signature wit and passion, New York Times bestselling author Katherine Howe delivers an exciting and suspenseful novel, a chilling mystery that raises the question, what's really happening to the girls at St. Joan's?

 

Katherine is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and The House of Velvet and Glass. She is a lecturer in American Studies at Cornell University. She is also a direct descendant of three of the women accused of witchcraft during the Salem Witch trials, one who was hanged and two who survived. Her books have been published around the world in 23 languages to date.


If you cannot make the event, you can reserve a personalized copy of any of the author's books by contacting Fiction Addiction in advance at 864-675-0540 or at info@fiction-addiction.com.

 

 

ABOUT FICTION ADDICTION

Fiction Addiction is a local, woman-owned, independent bookstore established in 2001. The store carries a mixture of new and used fiction and nonfiction, including children's books, as well as gift items. We are located at 1175 Woods Crossing Road (in the shopping center with Five Guys and Fried Green Tomatoes). For more information, visit our website at http://www.fiction-addiction.com or call us at 864-675-0540.

 

 

- END -